Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I used almond flour, and loved it. Such a perfect combination with onions. Only problem was I probably ate too much. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
I am not a liver fan but gave this a try to quiet my nagging husband. I must say that it was AWESOME! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I do not like liver! Or at least that's what I believed until I tried this recipe! I cooked it for my father, only to find myself rapidly devouring it after an ill fated "taste test". You've just made this a regular item on the grocery list. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
This was a great variation from my normal. Never tried soaking in milk beforedid only soaked it long enough to cook the onions, so I was able to keep the taste the same and I don't usually use flour, I had wheat flour. I added the onions and gravy and it was delicious with rice and broccoli. I think the milk helps keep it tender which I don't have a problem with but I did notice it was more tender than usual. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
Excellent recipe. Soaking the liver in milk makes ALL the difference. Also, using calves liver, as it is more tender with a gentler flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jane
Home Town: Dolton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I followed it exactly BUT I decreased the quantity of liver and onion to suit my appetite. The most important thing is to soak the liver in milk. One can use a cheaper cut of liver and it will taste like the most expensive calf liver - it also takes any bitter taste out of beef or lamb liver. I have used that tip for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Not big on liver, but soaking it in milk makes the difference. In addition to the onions I added in some mushroom pieces and a little chicken broth. It turned out pretty well. I'll eat this more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
followed recipe to the "t" and it was perfect! made husband very happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I will try it again, it's maybe the slice of my liver or something, but I think it was a little tasteless, and maybe my fault it was a little too floury tasting. One reviewer called it a good base recipe. I think that's the best description. I'll update next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This is the same way, I have been making liver for the past 30 years, the only difference is, along with the onions, I add 2 or 3 jalapeneos seeded, and cut in half lengthwise , I do not slice them so the onions will not become too spicy, also because I like to fish them out, and give to those guestst, that can really apreciate them, including myself of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 312) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Chicken Fried Steak

See how to make real Southern-style chicken-fried steak with creamy gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States