Abalos-Style Hamburger Soup (Picadillo Filipino) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Very delicious! We don't like fish, so I left out the fish oil. I did add 2 dashes of Tabasco and Worcestershire sauce as it was a little bland when I did the taste test before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Delish! This is a wonderful soup! I made a few changes.. added two tomatoes instead of one, and a small chunk of ginger. I also cut the amount of fish sauce to 1 tbs. Its very tasty and wonderful over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
I gave this a 5 star for its simplicity and ease. It's also different from the other stews because of the addition of the fish sauce. It gives it a bolder flavor. Be careful with it though...if you're not used to it, it might be a bit much. So cut it down to just about 1 tbsp. It is definitely meant to be eaten with rice. And don't use ground beef with more than 15% fat otherwise it'll be too greasy. Thank you for the recipe. My boys loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Very good and very easy to prepare. I used a can of diced tomatoes and 3 beef bouillion cubes. Left out the fish sauce because I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Collins, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I didn't really care for this. It's pretty salty, and yes, not draining the ground beef makes it a bit fatty. I added cilantro because I had it on hand, but I don't think it made much difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I made it as written except I used canned tomatoes and cooked the ground beef seperately. I served it over rice. The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justadab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I thought this was a really good base recipe. I didn't have any fish sauce so I substituted with some chili powder. We like our food spicy anyway. I also added some celery because I had some to use up. I just threw everything in a pot and let it simmer. Really simple and really easy to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
As the author of this dish, the fish sauce is supposed to be optional in place of salt for more of an asian flavor. I guess that got lost in allrecipe's editing. Anyway, feel free to add your favorite vegetables to the basic stew. I find that parboiling the potatoes first in a separate pot, then adding them near the end, prevents them from soaking up all the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
We really didn't enjoy this recipe. It was edible, but none of the flavors were really interesting. I regret adding the ground beef in with the vegetables and then adding the rest of the ingredients; perhaps I should have browned the beef in a separate pan, drained, and then added it to the soup. As it was it was way too fatty. We won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Thai Coconut Soup

A delicious, must-have soup recipe.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Gretchen's Tomato Orange Soup

See how to make this comfort food favorite with a bright, delicious twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States