Aargau Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
This cake came out pretty bad. I thought the recope looks funny, only having a 1/4 cup flour. It came out like a carrot tart...not a carrot cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
smells delicious, but yes it did turn out thin. may be due to my lack of experience in beating the egg whites. fyi for anyone else, the eggs should be room temp. & any tiny amount of yolk in the whites will mess things up. from what i read getting them stiff should take about 3 - 5 mins. and need to be folded in immediately. will rate tomorrow after tasting. good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very good cake and very esy to make. I am a beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
I'm from the Canton Aargau myself and I gotta say this is the real deal. In Swiss German we call it Aargauer Rueblitorte. It is true, we are very famous for the carrots we grow :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Highly reccommended. Created cake as per receipe. Chose not to ice - just dusted with icing sugar. Found that it was sweet with a distinct carrot flavour and not too oily as traditional carrot cakes can be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
As advertised, moist, delicious and light! And obviously, one look at the recipe tells you this is not what we're accustomed to calling carrot cake, so you do have to toss out those preconceived notions about carrot cake to rate this appropriately. I knew I wanted to use a glaze on it, so I took the advice of other reviewers and reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup. To be honest, if I was going glaze-less, this would not have been sweet enough for me, and the glaze proved to make it (almost) too sweet for my tastes. So! Next time, I'll follow the cake recipe exactly, and maybe just dust with powdered sugar for effect. I liked the almonds, but I might try using ground walnuts next time instead - I think they'd go better (maybe preconceived notions of carrot cake, but it sounds like a good idea to me!). Thanks for sharing this unique and tasty recipe, Corwynn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
I liked this cake a lot. It is very different from the carrot cake I'm used to but it's good. Had a nice crisp texture on the outside but was moist on the inside. I added a sprinkle of nutmeg, used 1/3 c sugar, and didn't use the frosting (made it for my 1 year old). It was a good sneaky way to get in those carrots!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jackson, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
My husband is Swiss and his mother has made this cake for him since he was a kid. He loves it and is so happy that I can now duplicate his Mother's cake. Hazelnuts can easily replace the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bowling Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This cake was good but it is not your typical carrot cake, it has a light lemony taste. I frosted it with a cream cheese frosting that I added lemon zest and vanilla to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
This is a delicious and uniquely-flavored, lemony cake. I cut the sugar to half a cup and it was plenty sweet. I also topped it with a glaze made from the juice of half a lemon and some powdered sugar. Note: it only took about 20 minutes to bake in my oven. My husband and family topped the cake with plain yogurt and gave rave reviews. I'll definitely make it again, but double the recipe next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States