Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2006
I give this 5 stars based on the revisions I made to the orginal recipe. I finely chopped 1 sweet onion and sauteed it in 1 T of butter. To that I added the items as instructed with the addition of 1/2 C of shredded carrot, 2t of minced garlic, 1 bag of Kraft bacon bits and about 1/4t of pepper. Also I added more water than what was called for bringing the total to about 3 C. After the potatoes were cooked soft I used a hand masher and mashed them coarsely in the pan. Now I don't know how it would have turned out if I would have followed the recipe as written but it was really excellant with the revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
I did a couple of things differently with this recipe - I did NOT use the potatoes in the au gratin box (somehow it didn't seem right), just cut up a few extra potatoes and threw 'em in. I used half-and-half instead of cream and threw in a bit extra so that it would have the creamy consistency I liked (less fat, too). I also used a bit of leftover Velveeta cheese from the "deluxe macaroni" packages. The verdict? You can't get better than this. I was pleasantly shocked (and VERY filled - this soup WILL fill you up, a bit of bread and this is just right for dinner). Think I'll try adding a bit of diced ham next time. Wonderful soup. Thanks, Raymond!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
A good recipe! I read through all of the other reviews and incorporated several of their recommendations. This is what I would suggest for improvement: (1) Use Half & Half instead of cream - it was a little too rich with the heavy cream, (2) Add sauteed onions/green onions and bacon for extra flavor, (3) Very lightly mash the potatoes before adding the cream/half & half - this gave the potatoes a more uniform appearance since you're using both an au gratin mix (slices)and Yukon Golds (cubed), (4) Season to taste - I used salt & black pepper, and a little bit of cayenne pepper, (5) Garnish with grated cheese, crumbled bacon, and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
I made this recipe. It was warm. I found out that my brother had put his foot in the soup when I wasn't looking. He's no good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juan Vallee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
If I could give this 6 stars...I would!! We have made this soup many times now and it's a family favorite! For a twist...my hubby added groud beef to it this last time, for a meatier meal and it was such a hit. I'm telling you that this is so easy and so yummy!! Please try........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This soup was served at our weekly community Soup Night, hosted at our home. With almost 40 people showing up that night, it was the biggest hit yet! Requests came all night for the recipe. We took the advice of another rater and served crumbled bacon and green onions on the side. Also added a bowl of sour cream for guests to add. Quite the hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2002
This recipe is incredible! I had to use Four Cheese potatoes instead of Au Gratin since my supermarket didn't have them, and it still turned out great! I added bacon bits during cooking, along with a few other spices, and I also added a little Velveeta cheese - it's insanely good! Have to use this recipe at my next get-together =))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This was simple and great. My boyfriend who is always complaining about sub-par potato soups said it was the best he's had in a long time. I made a few adjustments/additions: veg broth, small onion (chopped), 6 small garlic cloves (minced), processed the soup in blender, and half cup chopped chives added with the cream. It was great great great! We almost ate the whole batch btwn the two of us... Thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
Delicious soup! I actually have made it in the crock pot too - will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2002
Maybe I did something wrong but this basically just tasted like watery augratin potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States