Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe. I'm trying to be healthier, so I used 2 cups of skim milk instead of the cup of cream, and fresh broccoli and cauliflower instead of the additional potatoes (I did use the dried potatoes that came with the au gratin mix). It came out crazy good. There are tastier recipes out there, but for how easy this is, and how flexible, it deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Good for a quick soup. The reheat was more like eating 'loaded' mashed potatoes, though. I added bacon as well, plus I used fat free half and half instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is amazing! I didn't use the Au Gratin b/c to me that seems like it's not a real potato soup. However, I added the little bit of extra cream ( 1/2 cup) made my own chicken broth ( 2 cups water + 2 cubes of Knox cubes of chicken) and although it's a bit extra watery, it's really really awesome. This is the best one for new beginners, like me. I tried a potato soup before but it turned out disastrous. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I really like this recipe! I have made it several times and my kids go nuts for it. I do add just about 1 cup more water and season with salt and pepper. I serve it topped with shredded colby and monterrey jack cheese and real bacon bits. It's very quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
So easy and so good! Based on other reviews, I didn't use the au gratin potatoes, but just added extra yellow potatoes. I also added salt, pepper, and onion and velveeta cheese. Great Soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Great recipe, very easy to throw together. Did not have evap milk so I used heavy cream in its place. I also added some fresh bacon bits 1/2 cup or so, 1/2 cup cheddar cheese and 4-5 pinches of black pepper. I topped it off with scallions and it was great. Thanks for sharing =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This one didn't do it for me. It tasted too much like liquefied potatoes au gratin, rather than a hearty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
One of my favirite soups.... five stars all the way. I didn't change anything...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
This is the easiest and creamiest potato soup I have ever made. I will be throwing out all the old recipies. The only thing I did was to serve with a sprinkle of Bacon, Shredded Cheddar and Green Onion. This was even a hit with my 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Aaahh! Good stuff. Did the onion and ham thing as others suggested. Very tasty. Seconds served all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Eagan, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States