Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I did alter this quite a bit, but was a HUGE hit! I used baked red potatoes, sauted bacon/onion in the saucepan first, added rest & simmered for over an hour and then added a can of evaporated milk and 8oz of sharp cheddar. This will for sure be a new family menu item :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
WOW.....I have never tasted potato soup as good as this. I will definitely be making this again. My kids and husband loved it. The only things I did differently is I added 1 chopped onion and instead of water, I just used all chicken broth. I also didn't have au gratin potato mix, so I used macaroni and cheese mix. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Five stars after I tweaked per reviewers suggestions. I used all real potates and smashed up a cup or so then added back to the soup. I also added shredded cheddar, used milk instead of heavy cream and used additional chicken broth instead of water. I'd like to add a dark beer to this next time. Maybe some bacon per my family's request. Good starting point recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lakiesha2
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this tonight.It came out amazing.I really suprised myself with this one.I've never made soup before,but it was seasoned very well. I sauteed onions and minced garlic before adding the potatoes and chicken stock.Tonight was pretty cold so I definitley enjoyed this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
It was ok but not the best potato soup. easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nifong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clemmons, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Definitely will use half-n-half next time. It was very thick--although very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosesgrenadine
Home Town: New Albany, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
i havent tried to make it yet but it looks awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
This is a great recipe. I'm trying to be healthier, so I used 2 cups of skim milk instead of the cup of cream, and fresh broccoli and cauliflower instead of the additional potatoes (I did use the dried potatoes that came with the au gratin mix). It came out crazy good. There are tastier recipes out there, but for how easy this is, and how flexible, it deserves 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Good for a quick soup. The reheat was more like eating 'loaded' mashed potatoes, though. I added bacon as well, plus I used fat free half and half instead of cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
This is amazing! I didn't use the Au Gratin b/c to me that seems like it's not a real potato soup. However, I added the little bit of extra cream ( 1/2 cup) made my own chicken broth ( 2 cups water + 2 cubes of Knox cubes of chicken) and although it's a bit extra watery, it's really really awesome. This is the best one for new beginners, like me. I tried a potato soup before but it turned out disastrous. Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States