Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
add mac and cheese - not cheeesey scallopped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Good, but boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
delicious!! I used only half the box of au gratin mix, and the cheesy mix made the soup extra cheesy I loved it! It did take about 40 minutes on med heat for the potato to heat through, then I mashed some of the potato cubes. I added shredded cheddar cheese and green onion and plenty of bacon bits and a dollop of sour cream just before serving! yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This soup is simple and easy. I didn't have regular scalloped potatoes but I did have Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes. after everything was cooked through I fished out about a half cup of the diced potatoes and blended the rest in the blender with the cream, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. YUMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millerstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This rocked. I will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeyRamoneR.I.P

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Very Good!!! I also used half and half instead of heavy cream and some sauted garlic and onion. Did not use the package of au gratin and added more potatoes and more water. topped with cheese. Easy and I highly recommend trying this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
One of the best soups I've ever made!! I didn't have au gratins, so followed Cathalain's suggestion and added two extra Yukons and about 2/3 cup of shredded cheddar right into the pot (it dissolved nicely). I used a full quart of water and two big Knorr bouillons, cooked the potatoes until they were nearly soft, then partially mashed them (we like a bit of texture). Meanwhile I added 1 tsp of garlic powder (to taste) and a few dashes of hot sauce. As the soup simmered, I browned a few slices of bacon and two boneless pork chops that needed used up. I had first cut them into 1/2 inch bits, then when browned I added them to the soup pot. (Next time I may use chopped ham or sausage, or even burger.) At this point you may add more water up to the volume or thickness you prefer, and perhaps stir in more cheese. If the soup seems too thin, dissolve one or two tbsp of corn starch in cold water, and stir in while the soup is still simmering. (There is never an excuse for thin soup as long as you have a box of cornstarch on the shelf.) Before serving, I added 1/2 cup of condensed milk and 4 oz of sour cream. This was absolutely one of the most flavorful soups I have ever tasted. It is basically the recipe provided for us, and I am grateful for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
awesome a little thick the next day so I added more cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The best potato soup I have made. I sauteed some onion, celery, carrot & mushrooms in a small amount of olive oil, then added the potatoes and rest of the ingrediants. Seasoned with garlic salt, fresh ground pepper and a little cayenne. I added some chopped bacon with the cream. Yum, thanks Raymond
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States