Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This soup is simple and easy. I didn't have regular scalloped potatoes but I did have Cheesy Scalloped Potatoes. after everything was cooked through I fished out about a half cup of the diced potatoes and blended the rest in the blender with the cream, salt, pepper, and garlic powder. YUMMMM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millerstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This rocked. I will definatly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeyRamoneR.I.P

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jasper, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Very Good!!! I also used half and half instead of heavy cream and some sauted garlic and onion. Did not use the package of au gratin and added more potatoes and more water. topped with cheese. Easy and I highly recommend trying this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Marble Falls, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
One of the best soups I've ever made!! I didn't have au gratins, so followed Cathalain's suggestion and added two extra Yukons and about 2/3 cup of shredded cheddar right into the pot (it dissolved nicely). I used a full quart of water and two big Knorr bouillons, cooked the potatoes until they were nearly soft, then partially mashed them (we like a bit of texture). Meanwhile I added 1 tsp of garlic powder (to taste) and a few dashes of hot sauce. As the soup simmered, I browned a few slices of bacon and two boneless pork chops that needed used up. I had first cut them into 1/2 inch bits, then when browned I added them to the soup pot. (Next time I may use chopped ham or sausage, or even burger.) At this point you may add more water up to the volume or thickness you prefer, and perhaps stir in more cheese. If the soup seems too thin, dissolve one or two tbsp of corn starch in cold water, and stir in while the soup is still simmering. (There is never an excuse for thin soup as long as you have a box of cornstarch on the shelf.) Before serving, I added 1/2 cup of condensed milk and 4 oz of sour cream. This was absolutely one of the most flavorful soups I have ever tasted. It is basically the recipe provided for us, and I am grateful for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
awesome a little thick the next day so I added more cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
The best potato soup I have made. I sauteed some onion, celery, carrot & mushrooms in a small amount of olive oil, then added the potatoes and rest of the ingrediants. Seasoned with garlic salt, fresh ground pepper and a little cayenne. I added some chopped bacon with the cream. Yum, thanks Raymond
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Needs salt and pepper, lots!! A real creamy soup. Husband liked it more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
BEST potato soup I've ever had! made it for dinner tonight, it was so easy and delicious! I didn't use bacon or scallions though and I added onion powder and garlic powder for a lil flavor, did everything else as it says and man it was good! can't wait to have the left overs for lunch!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Seemed like it needed more flavor and really salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edgerton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States