Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Packaged au gratin is good if you want quick, but not quality. I tried it and like homemade version much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
I made this recipe this morning. However, I have not eaten yet. Next time I would not use the box potatoes. I would use regular potatoes. I would rate this 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Raymond Cooper . . . you are a GENIUS! This recipe was so delicious and easy and my roommate claims this is the best potato soup she's ever had. The first time I followed the recipe as written except I used 1/2 & 1/2 in lieu of heavy cream because that's all I had. And I loved it. Tonight when I made it, I added some Velveeta cheese that I had to use up and I thought I had died and gone to heaven. Each time I fried up some bacon and sprinkled that along with chives on top of each bowl and unfortunately I gobbled it up before I had a chance to take a photo. Thanks again for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PMtz19

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
HOLY YUMM!!!!!!!! This is awesome! I have been eating it three times a day for two days, and, as an added bonus, my husband thinks I'm a genius! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
Excellent! What an idea - sometimes I just don't see the forest for the trees and I always do things the way I was taught. The au gratin mix! the ideas for variations are just rolling through! I am making this tonight and will update after the family review - I know this is gonna rock though :) UPDATE: EXCELLENT - What a hit! I've requests galore to "PLEASE make again" This Rocks Raymond Cooper :) The family loved it, and I loved it - it was the au gratin mix that gave it the extra special kick for us, since we've always done it the same old fashioned way. I'm making more to freeze this weekend with some variation, I'm going to add some premade turkey meatballs to some, some creamed corn to some, and some spicy peppers and a touch of hotsauce to what's left :) (thats just for me though :)) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The recipe as written is good but it's bland and kind of basic. I like to add celery and onion I've sautéed to soften them up a bit and some garlic. I've also started to used homemade chicken broth as I've found the store bought stuff is just sodium infused nastiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Domestically Challenged Grrl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
This was really, really good. Even my picky daughter said so! I used half milk and half cream (half and half) instead of the heavy cream. It was still creamy enough. I think next time I will try using just milk and see how it turns out. Also...I doubled the recipe and found that it wasn't enough for the 5 of us. They were still asking for more. I think next time I will quadruple the recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
add mac and cheese - not cheeesey scallopped potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Good, but boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
delicious!! I used only half the box of au gratin mix, and the cheesy mix made the soup extra cheesy I loved it! It did take about 40 minutes on med heat for the potato to heat through, then I mashed some of the potato cubes. I added shredded cheddar cheese and green onion and plenty of bacon bits and a dollop of sour cream just before serving! yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sundropkisses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States