Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This recipe is a huge hit with everyone that I make it for. My mother, who is a potato soup fanatic and very picky about it says this is the absolute best potato soup ever. She has even bragged to other people that I make the best potato soup. That is rare (that she would brag to someone about me LOL). I did add a couple things as a preference thing...1) 2-very finely diced celery 2) very finely diced sweet onion 3)fresh grated baby carrots (watch the fingers) 4)half pound of diced fried bacon 5) instead of 2 Yukon golds I used 5-6 idaho potatoes 6) 2-boxes of the au gratin potatoes mix 7) 1 1/2 cups water 8) 1 1/2 cups chicken broth 9) 2 cups heavy cream 10) lots of cracked black pepper 11) 1/2 tsp minced pre-minced garlic I sauteed the onion and celery in about 2 tbls margarine until translucent then added that to the soup. Yes I made a lot of additions. But the basic recipe of the box of potato mix and other base ingredients I got from this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Michels

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious. Just finished supper and this is what we had. I only changed a couple of things. I did not have any chicken stock, so I used two chicken bullion cubes. Also, I added at the end with the heavy cream one half stick of butter. Delicious! Rich, creamy, and VERY filling. This could be on a menu at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I've always loved the white, creamy potato soup and this homemade version is excellent! I got rave reviews from the family! The only thing was the serving size.. 6 servings would really be half that.. it served two adults and two picky toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
YUM! This is so good and easy to make! I follow the recipe to a T, and have never had any problems, it is so good! My fiance keeps asking me to make it, so it must be good! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
OMG! I made this and it was better than ANY potato soup I have ever had! I deviated a little from the recipe.I sauted a small onion and three cloves of garlic and added that to my pot. I doubled everything, using the mix AND the dried potatoes from the box, added a "broccoli cheddar" packet mix from a rice a roni box, used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream, and added another cup or two of milk. (I also added a couple handfuls of baby carrots coarsely chopped in the beginning.. it added nice color) I lightly mashed everything twords the end and it was FABULOUS! I will be making this OFTEN this winter! THANK YOU! ( i guess mine was kind of a.. cheesy broccoli potato soup.. lol)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Wow, this was really good! I did alter slightly, I sauted some celery, shredded carrots, onion and garlic in a little olive oil. I added that to the potato and chicken broth. I used fat free half and half instead of the heavy cream. I also used a hand blender for a few dunks in the pot (we like ours kind of chunky). After adding the cream, i did add a few handful of cheddar cheese. Served with a dollop of Sour cream, bacon bites and cheese. Everyone raved and I looked like I spent hours slaving! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duryea, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Made this yesterday and the family LOVED it. Added onion, topped with grated chedder cheese and bacon. The family wants me to make this again real soon! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choran

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glendora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This is the best pot of potato soup I have ever made! Delicious and very quick. I used butter herb instant potatoes which gave it even more flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deeno
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was delicious and so very easy. I used russets because the gold potatoes at my grocer were not good looking and I used half and half instead of heaby cream to cut the fat and calories a bit. It was still creamy and delicious. This recipe is a keeper that I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeno

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA
Living In: Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This soup is execellent! Its good just the way it is. I spice mine up a bit with sweated onion, carrot that is diced very small, thyme, salt, and pepper. I also served with bacon. I make garlic toast for the side. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States