Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Best potato soup I've ever had! The entire family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tothetelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
This soup is absolutely delicious and super easy to make. I like topping it off with chopped bacon and tons of colby jack cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
LOVE it. My husband asks for it all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Cooked according to recipe directions, and didn't change or follow other users suggestions. Soup seemed bland and not very flavorful, although I added some bacon and cheese which was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Schleicher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
As written tasted like boxed au gratin potato soup - quick and not bad but not great in my opinion. I sauted celery, green onion and garlic as recommended by others. Then put in au gratin mix, cubed potatoes, white wine and part skim milk and part 1/2 & 1/2. Blended it with my hand blender. Then added the secret ingrediant - Franks hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I took the suggestions from the other reviews started out by sauteing garlic and onions in butter then adding ingredients, and then adding some of my own. For example, I added chopped bacon and cubed ham. I also tried the mashing technique just to get all the potatoes more uniform. The soup turned out GREAT and I will make sure I keep this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
quick, easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great soup for a quick hearty meal. Because of the use of the au gratin potato box mix and condensed soup it was bit too salty for us. I thought with the addition of water and cream it would lessen/cut the salt taste, but it didn't. When I started to make it I accidentally opened and began using a box of Rosemary and Herb Scalloped potatoes instead. I didn't want to waste the mix and only had 1 can of condensed chicken broth, so I used Swanson chicken broth for ALL complete measure equal to the combined condensed soup & water for this soup. Then in another pot I made the recipe as written for the box of au gratin potatoes. I did use half & half in place of the cream and stirred in 1 T unsalted butter into each. Both my daughter and I liked the Rosemary soup better then the cheesy one. I think because it wasn't as salty with the use of the regular chicken broth vs the condensed. Also the herb flavors were wonderful! It made a very unique soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
It was good. I followed as written with the exception of replacing the cream w/ half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica New Alford

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
this tastes great & the potatoes aren't even done yet! i did sautee an onion w a lil garlic in butter before adding the rest in, but other than that followed the recipe. never thought to use a box of au gratin, but this is deff a keeper for us! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 269) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States