Aaahh! Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Cooked according to recipe directions, and didn't change or follow other users suggestions. Soup seemed bland and not very flavorful, although I added some bacon and cheese which was suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by craftysteph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
As written tasted like boxed au gratin potato soup - quick and not bad but not great in my opinion. I sauted celery, green onion and garlic as recommended by others. Then put in au gratin mix, cubed potatoes, white wine and part skim milk and part 1/2 & 1/2. Blended it with my hand blender. Then added the secret ingrediant - Franks hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I took the suggestions from the other reviews started out by sauteing garlic and onions in butter then adding ingredients, and then adding some of my own. For example, I added chopped bacon and cubed ham. I also tried the mashing technique just to get all the potatoes more uniform. The soup turned out GREAT and I will make sure I keep this recipe around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
quick, easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Great soup for a quick hearty meal. Because of the use of the au gratin potato box mix and condensed soup it was bit too salty for us. I thought with the addition of water and cream it would lessen/cut the salt taste, but it didn't. When I started to make it I accidentally opened and began using a box of Rosemary and Herb Scalloped potatoes instead. I didn't want to waste the mix and only had 1 can of condensed chicken broth, so I used Swanson chicken broth for ALL complete measure equal to the combined condensed soup & water for this soup. Then in another pot I made the recipe as written for the box of au gratin potatoes. I did use half & half in place of the cream and stirred in 1 T unsalted butter into each. Both my daughter and I liked the Rosemary soup better then the cheesy one. I think because it wasn't as salty with the use of the regular chicken broth vs the condensed. Also the herb flavors were wonderful! It made a very unique soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
It was good. I followed as written with the exception of replacing the cream w/ half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
this tastes great & the potatoes aren't even done yet! i did sautee an onion w a lil garlic in butter before adding the rest in, but other than that followed the recipe. never thought to use a box of au gratin, but this is deff a keeper for us! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This recipe is a huge hit with everyone that I make it for. My mother, who is a potato soup fanatic and very picky about it says this is the absolute best potato soup ever. She has even bragged to other people that I make the best potato soup. That is rare (that she would brag to someone about me LOL). I did add a couple things as a preference thing...1) 2-very finely diced celery 2) very finely diced sweet onion 3)fresh grated baby carrots (watch the fingers) 4)half pound of diced fried bacon 5) instead of 2 Yukon golds I used 5-6 idaho potatoes 6) 2-boxes of the au gratin potatoes mix 7) 1 1/2 cups water 8) 1 1/2 cups chicken broth 9) 2 cups heavy cream 10) lots of cracked black pepper 11) 1/2 tsp minced pre-minced garlic I sauteed the onion and celery in about 2 tbls margarine until translucent then added that to the soup. Yes I made a lot of additions. But the basic recipe of the box of potato mix and other base ingredients I got from this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
Delicious. Just finished supper and this is what we had. I only changed a couple of things. I did not have any chicken stock, so I used two chicken bullion cubes. Also, I added at the end with the heavy cream one half stick of butter. Delicious! Rich, creamy, and VERY filling. This could be on a menu at a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I've always loved the white, creamy potato soup and this homemade version is excellent! I got rave reviews from the family! The only thing was the serving size.. 6 servings would really be half that.. it served two adults and two picky toddlers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States