ANZAC Biscuits with Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
The mix is quite crumbly and doesn't stick together well (exact quantities were used). Aside from that, the taste of the cookies was bland - no real flavor apart from a mildly sweet taste. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I made these for my Australian husband and he loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKUNEKO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, New York, USA
Living In: Forest Hills, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Sorry, but I didn't think these were that good. I have never had these kind of 'biscuits' before so maybe that is why? I was looking for a cookie recipe that called for melted butter because I didn't want to wait for my butter to soften and I don't have a microwave. They didn't have much flavor despite the almonds and tasted really sweet and bland. Maybe they could use a pinch of salt to bring out the flavor and some almond extract? Anyway, I probably won't try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I love these biscuits! I even made a batch for my professor who is from New Zeland and she got so excited when she saw them. She ate the whole batch within a couple of days! She said they reminded her of home...that was the best complement that I could ever get!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by S. Leigh
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
I tampered with this recipe a great deal (mainly due to poor math skills and an excess of unwanted food provisions), but the finished product was wonderful! Instead of rolled oats, I used ground bran flakes, which, in combination with the syrup, made this delightfully gooey center surrounded by a crispy, butter crust. As for the "golden syrup" I decided to mix 1/2 honey and 1/2 maple syrup. Of course, in doing so, I accidently doubled the amount of the "golden syrup" in the recipe. =/ I subsituted Splenda for the sugar, and other than that, it was the same. Haha. =) The cookie/biscuits were so good they were gone nearly as soon as my family discovered the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
In all my years of cooking ANZAC's I never thought of including almonds in the recipe but they really do work well. The only changes I made where to add a little more liquid to the batter, use hand chopped almonds and to reduce the cooking time to 12-15 mins. They tasted nice and very anzac'y although next time I would include some dessicated coconut as to me they did not taste quite complete without it. Thankyou Allison, this recipe is definately worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lena

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
Somehow, I managed to mess up the recipe and the cookies molded into one giant cookie in the oven and it looked really gross. However, I brought the mass cookie to a college class for a presentation to prove that I tried, and everyone LOVED the flavor. The cookie was not attractive, but DELICIOUS none the less and a hit! The dough itself is wonderful before it's baked. Just make sure you follow the directions exactly and hopefully you'll have better luck. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wallace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: White House, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
These were a really nice change from the usual cookies. They had this great flavor that was really refreshing coming from a cookie. I didn't have any golden syrup at the time so I substituted molasses and I used ground almonds instead of sliced and it gave it a really nice nutty flavor. One of my friends just asked me the other day to 'Make those weird Australian cookies again' so I think I will:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I'm Australian and from what I understand golden syrup is similar to molasses. The point is to get that golden colour so I think molasses or even the dark glucose syrup would be closer to the original..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
I really liked this recipe, but I think the baking time was too long. I think it should be more like 12-15 minutes. I made a few changes to the recipe-- The batter seemed a little too moist and gooey, so I added a little extra flour. Also, I substituted light corn syrup for the golden syrup (I didn't have golden syrup-- in fact, I've never heard of it). And lastly, I added a tsp of almond flavoring. I'll add this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Maineville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

How to Blanch Almonds

See a money-saving method for blanching almonds.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States