ABC (Absolute Best Chewy) Chocolate Chippers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Okay, I make a HUGE amount of chocolate chip cookies-they are my absolute favorite! But, as good as my recipe is, I am always looking for that ultimate cookie. This is NOT the one. I followed the recipe (everything except the unbleached flour-I used regular flour), shook the hands-the whole bit! I'll have to say, they were very pretty cookies but entirely to cake-like (maybe it was the baking powder-never put baking powder in my cookies before). They had almost no taste (the true test of a good choc chip cookie is if the cookie part can stand on it's own without the chips). But, the worst part was the kosher salt. I kept biting into chunks of salt. Stacy, I appreciate the amount of time that went into perfecting your recipe but I'll have to keep looking. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I must have tried every chocolate chip recipe on the Internet, and in all my cookbooks, six of which are just on cookies alone! This is the first time that I was able to get a cookie that looked like a bakery cookie, and didn't flatten out, even though I did not have to chill the dough. It's an easy cookie to make. Wetting hands just made it easier to roll and look pretty; it's not a must. I'm surprised at some reviewers thinking it was so difficult to wet their hands, or that dark corn syrup is such an exotic ingredient. I guess they don't bake very much. Also, I don't like the taste of baked nuts, so I left them out and used extra chips. Loved them! I overbaked one batch till they were all golden, and that was wonderful also. Chewy cookies, not dry. Thank you so very much for this recipe, Stacey. I am indebted to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
I'm a fan of thin and crispy cookies, which is the only reason why I didn't give this recipe 5 stars. I tried it out for a friend who craved big chewy chocolate chip cookies and he freaked. I've been making them ever since. A few tricks I've learned with this recipe: *use an ice cream scoop to dump the dough onto the sheet. The cookies are enormous, but they definitely retain their chewiness and moist texture(use the baking time listed in the recipe). The ice cream scoop yields 3-4" wide cookies that are at least 3/4" thick. *to avoid the salt chunks that can happen with kosher salt, I let my KitchenAid have at the dough (before adding the chips) for a good long time. I find that I can taste the salt chunks when I rush this step. *I add 2 tsp. or so of cocoa powder or even cinnamon to the flour mixture. It gives the dough a little kick and helps it stand up to the chips. *if you're out of half and half, I've used regular milk and it works fine as a substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
Thank you, thank you, thank you. Stacy, bless you for contributing this recipe. I'm a very serious baker who has been frustrated at the quality of the chocolate chip cookies I've been baking in the past. I don't like the Toll House recipe. I've been fiddling with it for years to no avail. I always end up with either very dry cookies or "pancake" cookies with little chocolate chip "bumps". They also fall apart very easily. The decreased butter and the addition of corn syrup in your recipe did the trick. The baking time is critical. Too little and they're a little raw, too much and they become a bit dry. I've determined the correct length of time for my oven and the cookies are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Sorry, but these cookies were absolutely average. They're not bad, just not fantastic like the author would have you believe. I prefer a chewier cookie and these were too cake-y for my taste. I did like the level of instruction of the recipe, I find that very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Tough crowd reviewing here! Would agree that this is a soft cookie rather than a chewy one. I do have a couple of suggestions...make sure you folks are using Kosher salt not Sea salt. Could account for the chunks some of you tasted. Using unbleached flour gives you a denser, chewier cookie than bleached flour will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
A week ago I took the top six Chocolate Chip Cookies from this website and made all of them. I took the cookies to work and my church social, and asked people to tell me which cookies were their favorite. This cookie got about twenty percent of the vote. I'd have rated it higher if I was a "chewy" cookie fan. My husband, who liked these the best, said that he didn't like them at all when they were first baked, but after they had aged a week they were much tastier and had a better texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I was a little leary of putting the molasses in but followed the recipe except for half and half - used milk instead. I was VERY pleased with the results, taste and texture of these lovely morsals! Took some into work and people were asking for the recipe. Awesome A.B.C. cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
These cookies are amazing! They come out very soft and chewy. I mailed them to my husband serving overseas, and he and the other guys said that even two weeks-old they remained soft and delicious! They even withstood the high heat well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Thanks for posting, I've been making this cookie for years and I lost the recipe and found it here! Thank you! I used a 1/4 cup ice cream scooper, and slightly flattened with a wet fork and I bake them for 20 minutes. My daughters can't get enough of them! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAVES_POOKY

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States