ABC (Absolute Best Chewy) Chocolate Chippers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Not a bad cookie, but I found these to be too cake-like and a little on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2003
These cookies were really good.. I found that they had WAY to many chocolate chips, if I make them again I will reduce it to 1 - 1-1/2 cups. I have tried better chocolate chip cookie recipes so I can't give these 5 stars, but they were gobbled up pretty fast in this house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Not good. They were dry and cake-like -- I did not eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2003
Tough crowd reviewing here! Would agree that this is a soft cookie rather than a chewy one. I do have a couple of suggestions...make sure you folks are using Kosher salt not Sea salt. Could account for the chunks some of you tasted. Using unbleached flour gives you a denser, chewier cookie than bleached flour will.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
This is a decent cookie recipe and does indeed produce a chewy cookie. That is, unless you overbake. Contrary to the submitter's suggestion, I found the ideal baking time to be between 12.5 and 13.5 minutes. Anything longer than that and the cookies turn pretty hard after a few hours. Hint: if you start to see the cookies browning, get them out of the oven. Also, I though the recipe called for a little more salt and definitely more chocolate chips. I found the corn syrup to be needless after baking a second time and would add just a bit more white sugar instead next time. This is an excellent recipe in the fact that it does produce a wonderful and balanced texture. I ended up with 40 cookies and were eaten by my husband and I alone in 4 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Didn't find it to be that much extra effort for a dern fine cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
Yummy cookies, and I very much appreciated the detailed instructions and tips. I'll never try to "drop" cookies with dry hands again, and parchment paper really saves time on clean-up! I love the toasted nut flavor and the little zings of saltiness from the kosher salt. Perhaps not the ideal recipe for a "quick batch," but they're tops for taste. Watch the cooking time - overcooking leads to VERY hard cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2002
Okay, yes, these are time-consuming, but perfect for when you really want to impress. Take them to a bake sale or potluck dessert table, and they will be standouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This was a good cookie, but honestly, not worth the degree of trouble. Good, but no better than some much simpler recipes I've used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This recipe is a little more complicated than your average cookie recipe, but worth the extra effort. They taste just like my favorite cookies from the mall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States