ABC (Absolute Best Chewy) Chocolate Chippers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2002
Sorry, but these cookies were absolutely average. They're not bad, just not fantastic like the author would have you believe. I prefer a chewier cookie and these were too cake-y for my taste. I did like the level of instruction of the recipe, I find that very helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
*These really are the best! The kosher salt, cream and corn syrup make all the difference. Wetting your hands really does help, as does the use of parchment. Makes a very shiny and smooth dough, and the cookies hold together very well and form a nice shape. Great texture, chewy, creamy and sweet! I used milk chocolate chips and omitted the nuts, and I also added an extra-large dollop of sour cream. This recipe will be passed down to my children! Thank you, Stacey, for perfecting a favorite recipe!!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
Wonderful. I want them to be a little bit sweeter though. I may add a tad more sugar or use milk chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
I was a little leary of putting the molasses in but followed the recipe except for half and half - used milk instead. I was VERY pleased with the results, taste and texture of these lovely morsals! Took some into work and people were asking for the recipe. Awesome A.B.C. cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
Okay, I make a HUGE amount of chocolate chip cookies-they are my absolute favorite! But, as good as my recipe is, I am always looking for that ultimate cookie. This is NOT the one. I followed the recipe (everything except the unbleached flour-I used regular flour), shook the hands-the whole bit! I'll have to say, they were very pretty cookies but entirely to cake-like (maybe it was the baking powder-never put baking powder in my cookies before). They had almost no taste (the true test of a good choc chip cookie is if the cookie part can stand on it's own without the chips). But, the worst part was the kosher salt. I kept biting into chunks of salt. Stacy, I appreciate the amount of time that went into perfecting your recipe but I'll have to keep looking. Thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
I have been looking for a cookie that stays soft and chewy after one day and this is it. This cookie is great. I used light corn syrup and light brown sugar and they came out great, I also used milk instead of half and half. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
OUTSTANDING COOKIE - well worth the effort. The only thing I did differently, was instead of wetting my hands, I wet the scoop. The look of the cookie and the taste couldn't have been better. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I must have tried every chocolate chip recipe on the Internet, and in all my cookbooks, six of which are just on cookies alone! This is the first time that I was able to get a cookie that looked like a bakery cookie, and didn't flatten out, even though I did not have to chill the dough. It's an easy cookie to make. Wetting hands just made it easier to roll and look pretty; it's not a must. I'm surprised at some reviewers thinking it was so difficult to wet their hands, or that dark corn syrup is such an exotic ingredient. I guess they don't bake very much. Also, I don't like the taste of baked nuts, so I left them out and used extra chips. Loved them! I overbaked one batch till they were all golden, and that was wonderful also. Chewy cookies, not dry. Thank you so very much for this recipe, Stacey. I am indebted to you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
Best cookies ever. You MUST roast your own pecans - they are fantastic and truly make the cookie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
Thank you, thank you, thank you. Stacy, bless you for contributing this recipe. I'm a very serious baker who has been frustrated at the quality of the chocolate chip cookies I've been baking in the past. I don't like the Toll House recipe. I've been fiddling with it for years to no avail. I always end up with either very dry cookies or "pancake" cookies with little chocolate chip "bumps". They also fall apart very easily. The decreased butter and the addition of corn syrup in your recipe did the trick. The baking time is critical. Too little and they're a little raw, too much and they become a bit dry. I've determined the correct length of time for my oven and the cookies are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Oatmeal Chocolate Coconut Chewy

This chewy oatmeal cookie is loaded with chocolate chips, coconut, and nuts.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States