A to Z Everything-but-the-Kitchen-Sink Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
These were interesting... tasted almost like a gingerbread or molasses cookie at first bite because of all the spices, but the rest of the ingredients added a strange twist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This is now my family's new favorite cookie! I followed the recipe except for the mace and walnuts, which I left out. They were delicious and the recipe makes a nice big batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laila
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
These were rather good. I substituted 1/8 tsp nutmeg for mace and I substituted pecans for walnuts. The coconut couldn't be tasted, so the cookie rather resembled a chocolate-chip oatmeal cookie. Next time I will add more coconut and extra chocolate chips. Friends and family enjoyed these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laila

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This recipe got many raved reviews. The cereal added a welcomed texture. No need to buy mace just for this recipe (it's not a common staple around here). Adding an extra 1/8 t. of nutmeg worked just fine. Due to family preference, the dough was split in half at the end and 1/2 cup of pecans was added to one half and 1/2 cup of raisins to the other half (no walnuts were added to either half). It may seem odd to have all these ingredients together (especially the spices and the chocolate) but somehow (and quite well) this recipe works. Try it, if you like oatmeal chocolate chip cookies, I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELIZRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
A few alterations: I halved the mace (based on a lot of reviews but next time I'll put in the recommended), ommited nutmeg, used whole wheat flour, and used flax corn flake cereal. I had tons of people come up to me to comment on how yummy the cookies were. I would make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
wow. i made these for my husband for valentine's day and he must have eaten eight or nine that day alone. he took the rest to work and everyone went crazy for them. plus this recipe makes over 4 dozen cookies so you're loaded with chewy goodness for weeks. my rec: keep 'em on the smaller side and cook less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caterwauler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
These were very good. My first batch came out too flat and crispy, so the second time around, I added an additional half cup of flour and used a bit less baking soda. The second batch were thicker and we enjoyed them more. I also omitted the mace, nutmeg and cloves, as I didn't think they would give the sweeter taste I prefer in a chocoate chip cookie. The cookies still weren't quite as sweet and chocolatey as we prefer, but they got good reviews around here. I'll probably stick with a more traditional chocolate chip cookie recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenMomTo6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made these last night and they are delicious! I halved the recipe, didn't have mace, forgot the vanilla! and added white chocolate and cranberry/raisin mix and they still were wonderful. I must admit when I first read the recipe there was so much it made me wonder if they'd be good but they are. Try them out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
I love these I add anything I might have on hand... dried cherries, white chocolate chips, what ever. I never add the spices though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEARROBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States