A Very Popular BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Ok people, I must confess, I am a bit of a bbq sauce snob. I have several favorite recipes, all take a ton of ingredients and time to simmer. Tonight, I found myself in a pinch. I was making grilled pork chops, quickie dinner for the kids, and planned on using my usual Sweet Baby Rays brown sugar bottled sauce. Gah, I was out! So I hit up Google to find a quick, sweeter sauce, which is my preference. I hit on this gem. I didn't have high hopes, despite the reviews, because I have faith in the sauces and methods I have used in the past. The only substitution I made was apple cider vingar instead of red wine; partially because I was out of the red, also because I prefer the apple cider vinegar in a sauce to be used with pork. I added a bit of granulated garlic, for personal preference. And I also went a bit light on the ground mustard, as the container was almost empty and I didn't even realize it! Like others, I let it simmer for a bit. It tasted quite decent raw, but the flavors really need some heat to gel. Once it finished, it was amazing! I prefer a sweet sauce, so this was right up my alley. Those that don't, just decrease the brown sugar. I used Sriracha for the hot sauce, and a few extra squirts of it. It gives a fantastic background heat, mild but there, that sneaks up on you. Try this one ! Tweek to your tastes if needed, but is fantastic as is! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisaluvstocook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This sauce is a good base, but for me I needed more heat and sweet. About a 3/4 tablespoon of sriracha and about a tablespoon and a half of molasses made this peeeerfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rdsxlolo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eastchester, New York, USA
Living In: Altamonte Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is a good recipe. I defiantly suggest bringing it to a simmer, heating it up brought out the flavors more. I also added a tablespoon of molasses. I also added mor ketchup to thicken it up. But overall a very good BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Very good. I followed the recipe, plus boiled it as recommended. Not only was it good, it was very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Good recipe, but WAY too much vinegar for our taste. I had only put in 1 cup of the brown sugar, and ended up adding the other 1/2 C plus honey, and it was still too tangy. Also added a tablespoon of butter to give it a silkier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
It was super yummy!!! I don't think I will buy pre-made BBQ sauce again. The only things I changed was I used white wine vinegar and not quite so much of it and prepared mustard, and that was because of what I had on hand. I also added a dash of garlic powder. I agree with the others that you need to simmer the sauce on the stove and putting it in the blender is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
WOW, ok I am the first to admit BBQ sauce always came from a bottle in my family. But.... it was raining so bad this morning I didn't want to go to the store after I found out I had no BBQ sauce. So I tried (using that word very loosely)to make my own. I AM here to say never going back to bottled again. Not only was it super easy to make it was fantastic. I did simmer it first, and used balsamic instead of red wine. Try it you'll like it... Can not wait to tell my husband I did it.. He's gonna flip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swtscarlett
Home Town: Manhattan, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mukilteo, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Good recipe, and I agree with others that less sugar is ideal. Two notes: hot pepper sauce. For those of us who don't keep a vague bottle of this around, toss that out the window (since we're talking about a homemade sauce) and replace it with some finely grated cayenne pepper. Second note: cut the ketchup amount and replace with a good-quality tomato paste, such as Amore, if any Italians will be attending. They will show all the more love for the chef guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
i have used this recipe many times and always love it. i personally scale back on the sugar just a bit for personal taste. so easy. i dont use a blender.. just a bowl and a whisk. my most picker 12 year old son loves this BBQ. so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
i like allrecipes this bbq is the best thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States