A Surprise-Inside French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
If you are looking for a delicious breakfast to serve to your overnight guests, you may want to try this. I thought it was one of the best breakfast recipes I have tried. I used real eggs and 1% milk, and gave it plenty of time to soak into the bread. After it started to brown, I used a cover on the pan to make sure it was cooked throughout. It’s very pretty sprinkled with powder sugar and served with sliced fruit and real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
I'm not diabetic, but I need a low-fat diet. This feels like an indulgence, but it's actually good for you, especially with the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I agree with the first reviewer I used real eggs and cream. I not sure I would do it all the time but every once in a while you gotta live a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My family loves this recipe!!!! I make a double or triple batch and freeze what we don't eat. They warm up well in the oven. I can't remember what I warm them up on, but try 350 for about 7 min. Watch them because I would hate to have you burn them because I couldn't remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe was great! I couldn't find french bread or any other thick kind, so I ended up using two slices of plain bread to contain the filling. As for the filling, I didn't spend much time mixing it so it came out pretty chunky... but that worked pretty well too. After frying them I warmed them in the oven to melt the cheeses. Topped with butter, confectioner's sugar and blackberries, and everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious...it could be messy if you are not careful, but just make sure the slices are thick enough and you'll be fine. I loved this. Added some cinnamon to the egg mixture and sprinkled powdered sugar on top. I had mine with real maple sugar and the fiancee had hers with caramel syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This recipe is awsome!!! Even if you dont like breakfast like me try it you'll love it. But I do have to agree with others that have reviewed this recipe instead of eggs and a heavy cream substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixxx
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was FANTASTIC. I used Challah bread instead of french bread, and half and half instead of the evaporated milk. Served with fresh raspberries, this is better than most anything you could get at a restaurant. Perfecto! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is delicious! Once I made it with tortillas, another time I used my favorite diabetic friendly low carb pita bread from Joseph's Bakery. One of my favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
every winter when I make these I add cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg to the milk and egg mixture its a hit with my brothers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kurlychika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States