A Surprise-Inside French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
This recipe was great! I couldn't find french bread or any other thick kind, so I ended up using two slices of plain bread to contain the filling. As for the filling, I didn't spend much time mixing it so it came out pretty chunky... but that worked pretty well too. After frying them I warmed them in the oven to melt the cheeses. Topped with butter, confectioner's sugar and blackberries, and everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
It was ok, but nothing great, family said not to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2004
It is not very often that I make French toast. Especially stuffed. I decided to try this one for a Sunday Brunch. Everyone loved it! It's very heavy. I actually made mine with less ricotta cheese and added more cream cheese for a cream cake taste. I used a sweetner instead of sugar and low fat milk. This lessened the calories, but still gave it plenty of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2004
We thought it was pretty good, my very picky 12 yr. old liked it a lot. I used 2 eggs and a little low-fat milk in place of the egg substitute, which is quite expensive. 3 cups would be a lot wasted. I also sprinkled a little cinnamon in with the egg/milk mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
It's a neat idea. I did make some changes though. First off, I dropped the cottage cheese and increased the ricotta to 1/2 cup. I also used real eggs instead of the substitute. Then, after I spread the cheese mixture into the bread pockets, I spread about a tsp of seedless raspberry jam inside the pockets and cooked as directed. I served it with a little drizzle of real maple syrup. It's really good but HEAVY. Hubby (who loves french toast) made it through one, I couldn't finish mine. It's a nice treat but not an every weekend kind of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
My family loves this recipe!!!! I make a double or triple batch and freeze what we don't eat. They warm up well in the oven. I can't remember what I warm them up on, but try 350 for about 7 min. Watch them because I would hate to have you burn them because I couldn't remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I agree with the first reviewer I used real eggs and cream. I not sure I would do it all the time but every once in a while you gotta live a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2001
I'm not diabetic, but I need a low-fat diet. This feels like an indulgence, but it's actually good for you, especially with the fruit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2000
SOUNDS GREAT FOR SUNDAY MORNING COOK OUT. THINK I WILL SUBSTITUTE REAL EGGS AND HALF AND HALF FOR THE MILK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States