A Surprise-Inside French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I used ricotta cheese and cream cheese, as I have no cottage cheese on hand. I have made French Toast before using either one of the cheeses, but had not tried both together - it was WONDERFUL! Instead of cutting and stuffing the bread, I simply made sandwiches with the bread and cheese mixture - that worked great, too! I used real eggs and regular milk. I also added a bit of cinnamon and vanilla extract to the cheese and the egg/milk mixtures. EXCELLENT! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I love french toast but this one was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Awesome recipe! Definitly give the bread time to soak a bit in the egg mixture, they will cook so much better. I double the filling every time, i just love the filling too much lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
every winter when I make these I add cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg to the milk and egg mixture its a hit with my brothers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kurlychika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
If you are looking for a delicious breakfast to serve to your overnight guests, you may want to try this. I thought it was one of the best breakfast recipes I have tried. I used real eggs and 1% milk, and gave it plenty of time to soak into the bread. After it started to brown, I used a cover on the pan to make sure it was cooked throughout. It’s very pretty sprinkled with powder sugar and served with sliced fruit and real maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
This is delicious! Once I made it with tortillas, another time I used my favorite diabetic friendly low carb pita bread from Joseph's Bakery. One of my favorite dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
This was FANTASTIC. I used Challah bread instead of french bread, and half and half instead of the evaporated milk. Served with fresh raspberries, this is better than most anything you could get at a restaurant. Perfecto! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
This recipe is awsome!!! Even if you dont like breakfast like me try it you'll love it. But I do have to agree with others that have reviewed this recipe instead of eggs and a heavy cream substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trixxx
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Delicious...it could be messy if you are not careful, but just make sure the slices are thick enough and you'll be fine. I loved this. Added some cinnamon to the egg mixture and sprinkled powdered sugar on top. I had mine with real maple sugar and the fiancee had hers with caramel syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Nice flavor but i found it difficult to stuff them. I used homemade bread, making the slices thick, with the thought being that it would be easier to make the pocket. Not the case. I couldn't seem to make a nice pocket and ended up making a mess. The end product tasted good, even though some of the surprise was on the outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's French Toast

Chef John reveals the three tricks to making perfect French toast.

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States