A Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Southern Fried? Not really. More of fried chicken with a twist. I don't deep fry, buttermilk, salt, pepper, and flour. TEXAS PETE HOT SAUCE was mentioned and is my favorite hands down! I use a deep iron skillet and Crisco oil. MH heat and turn when it reaches desired brownness. To vary off this original, I will add a little onion powder to the flour. Texas Pete, and iron skillet is the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Dan George

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
As far as ingredients go this is not true southern fried chicken. Might want to rename it Southern BBQ Fried Chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Just read this recipe. It is a lot like a recipe I found on America's Test Kitchen. Will try it since I love fried chicken. Oh, and for cooks who don't mind getting their hands dirty just try to press the coating on the chicken pieces with your hands. I know it's messy but it helps the coating adhere to the chicken. Good eating everybody ! Rated it a 4 star cause it sounds pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This most certainly is NOT Southern Fried Chicken. REALLY, get real.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This sounds like how I do it except instead of bq sauce... try Texas Pete hot sauce. My brother works in a upscale restaurant here they use the texas pete and it's the best I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camille

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I gave this recipe a one for taste and procedure. This was very messy and the chicken had no taste whatsoever. I would've thought with all the seasonings, this chicken would come close to KFC. Will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
for all the things that you add, there wasnt much flavor... will probably not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
With all the seasonings, I still couldn't taste it, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cameron, Texas, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made this recipe tonight and it was really good I would recommend this recipe. I made mine with chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I don't care for fried chicken but my husband loves it. For his Birthday I made him this recipe. He loved it! So I tried a bite and was surprised how moist the chicken was and what a great flavor the coating had!! It was an easy recipe and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States