A Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I was looking for a great recipe for Fried Chicken with coating that would not be soggy or fall off. I found it. If your coating is soggy you do not have your oil hot enough. I am also not sure why others are criticizing the name of the recipe and docking stars for that. A cook is allowed to name their recipe however they see fit. To heck with all you who think this is not "southern". It is as southern as Hot Sauce and Jambalaya in my book. The coating is a bit messy, but somehow it was all worth it in the end. It is a great, crunchy, and spicy coating. This is not a traditional fried chicken recipe, but it is good and deserving of 5 stars. Thank you Jason!!! When I am in the mood, I will be choosing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Southern Fried Chicken? With BBQ sauce? OK, this rebel will try it. I fried up this mess and wow, this is as southern as KFC... Drop the BBQ and use a good oil and fresh buttermilk. my .02
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly, and it did not turn out. The chicken ended up a soggy mess. Definitely did not have the crunchy exterior that I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
One thing that always annoyed me about fried food was no matter what seasonings I put in, frying seemed to kill them. Not the case with this batter! Now I know the secret is to put the seasonings in the liquid, then dredge in seasoned flour, as well. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I made this last week for my husband wo LOVES my mom's fried chicken. He ate it, but did not say he loved it like he does my mom's. I HATED IT! I switched hot sauce for the bbq sauce like the suggestion of another reviewer. That didn't help it taste better. There was so much "batter" you could hardly taste anything of the spices. It was also VERY MESSY! I will not make this again and will just stick with my mom's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by obgynrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
This is the first time I have made southern fried chicken. I didnt have enough buttermilk (only 280ml) but found it didnt matter. The result was fabulous, compliments all round. My boufriend and I like things really hot and spicy so next time I make this dish I will probably do what glittergirl94 did and double the spices
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enny
Home Town: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
I made my own butter milk (1T lemon juice/1C milk) and marinated the chicken in the milk mixture and doubled the spices in the flour, but other than that followed the directions exactly. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glittergirl94

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Franklin, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I added extra seasonings. It was kinda bland. I added garlic salt, onion powder and lots of black pepper. This is a good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAY10

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fostoria, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
The base recipe is a good start, next time I will add additional seasoning to bring out the flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Canada, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lindstrom, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
For me it was too greasy, maybe I didn't fry it hot enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindylea13

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States