A Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made this recipe tonight and it was really good I would recommend this recipe. I made mine with chicken breast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I don't care for fried chicken but my husband loves it. For his Birthday I made him this recipe. He loved it! So I tried a bite and was surprised how moist the chicken was and what a great flavor the coating had!! It was an easy recipe and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryAnn
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I have to admit, this is a great recipe! I soaked the chicken overnight in buttermilk, made a difference in the moistness. I added a couple of spices that others had mentioned; 1 tablespoon celerysalt,1 tsp. oregano, 1 tsp tyme, 1 tsp. ginger and to the buttermilk mix a tablespoon yellow mustard and then omitted the steaksauce(didnt have it). I fried the coating golden brown and then cooked it off in the oven, finger lickin'good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bank, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Im sorry but I did not care for this at all, It has too little flavor! and was very dry. I will not make agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA
Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This reciped tasted very good! However, I, too, had problems with getting the batter to stick to the chicken. I will not double dip them next time. And, I will probably just left them marinate overnight in the buttermilk mixture. Overall, it tasted awesome and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The instructions for this recipe are pretty poor. Definitely do NOT try cooking this at 375 degrees - you'll get raw inside and burnt outside. The flavors are good but do NOT try to double dip. This recipe is very messy and was more of a pain than what it was worth. We've found much better results frying chicken with just a dry coating of flour and your favorite seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Awesome!! This recipe is the closest I have ever come to how my grandmother use to make it. I soaked it for several hours in buttermilk & did not double dip it. It turned out PERFECT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
Everybody loved this recipe!!! Even my picky boys. I did marinated the chicken in the buttermilk mixture overnite, it was very tender and juicy. Definitely try using peanut oil and keep the temp around 300F. I only made legs and breasts, but everything turned out great! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
The breading was really good, but the directions were very poor. Cooking until golden brown on both sides does not get the inside of the chicken near the bones cooked at all and for someone who's new at cooking (like me) those instructions were very misleading. Even using boneless chicken, the inside still wasn't cooked thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger Clark

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I did not like this recipe at all. I found the batter too think and it was extremely difficult to cook in the frying pan. I am a "newer" cook so perhaps and this was my first attempt to make fried chicken so maybe someone with more experience would have better luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States