A Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was awesome!! Best home fried chicken ever!! Followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by subtleblonde
Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I liked the idea of adding steak sauce, worcestershire sauce, and BBQ into the egg mix. I removed the skins because it never fries up good with it on. Oh, i don't think I added any buttermilk at all! But honestly, 4 cups for 1 chicken is too much, and you would be throwing most of the "batter" away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
This recipe was AMAZING. My son likes drumsticks. I made a large serving of drumsticks, and my son devoured them!! I read reviews and made the following additions. I brined the chicken in a salt, apple cider, water solution for 2 hours. I added 2 teaspoons cumin & 1 teaspoon mustard powder to the buttermilk mixture. I also reduced the BBQ sauce as suggested. Then I marinated the chicken in the buttermilk mixture for 6 hours as suggested by other reviewers. I use tongs to handle the chicken when I dip between the buttermilk and flour. This keeps my hand from getting coated with the thick batter. I kept the temperature in the pan at 300 degrees so that I didn't burn the outside before the inside finished cooking. I think the brine definately made the chicken jucier. Thanks for the GREAT recipe. My son would love it if I made this recipe every day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HockeyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
bomb chicken for sure....added a little spice to it and that was it...its all in there
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I found this was a good recipe with great flavor but the coating did not stick well for me-maybe next time not bread it as much? Anyway maybe ill try it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krystle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
My family did not enjoy this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This recipe was outstanding. The BBQ and wocestershire give the chicken an amazing sweet, deep flavor. I didn't have any steak sauce and didn't add anything else to make up for the difference, but it was perfect as it was. Also, I didn't have whole pieces but rather used boneless chicken strips. It was very juicy but cooked all the way through, and it remained juicy even as leftovers. I will be making this chicken for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Delicious! I used chicken breast since I don't really like the other parts of the chicken. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waxahachie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
This was my first attempt at fried chicken and it turned out great, except a lot of the batter/breading fell off while I was cooking it. I think this was due to my electric skillet though. Next time I will batter/flour it once instead of doing it twice. It was delicious regardless. I let the chicken sit in the buttermilk mixture all day, and I just used chicken thighs because I had them in the fridge. Will defiantly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Savage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
My wife and I loved this recipe!! I used it with thinner cuts of boneless chicken breasts, also used pure olive oil and it was lighter. I added a little Lawry’s seasoning salt too. We will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Indiana, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States