A Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I made these for my dad and brother because they don't like faux chicken and they loved them. I used chicken thighs and legs instead of a whole chicken because I didn't feel like cutting it up. Then after dipping 4 large thighs and 4 large drumsticks in the batter and flour mixture, I had atleast half of the liquid batter left. Next time I will use 3 cups of buttermilk and 3/4 cup barbeque sauce. Also, I used a deep fryer and they took forever to cook! I left them in the fryer at 375 F for 20 minutes and they were still pink in the middle so I finished them in the oven at 400 F for another 15 minutes so they wouldn't burn in the oil. Everyone who tried it liked it so I'm sure it was a good recipe but it definitely was a lot of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSUCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hilliard, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I really liked this recipe.I had company over and everyone gave it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
This tasted strange for fried chicken. I think it was the BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
really good tasting chicken, next time I will not double dip cause the coating was just to much for me I am not a really big fried food eater even though I love it. but overall it was a good tasting chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Ketron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
It was such an interesting mix of ingredients, I had to try it. I didn't have steak sauce on hand and I used chicken breasts that I cut into "tenders". Kids & hubby loved it. Will definitely try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This chicken had a nice crunchy coating, but lacked flavor. I think it needed regular salt in addition to the seasoning salt. Quite disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
this was fantastic, followed it and it turned out great, people i cooked for loved it it turned out a golden brown ant was very tasty, i plan to mak again but instead of regular bbq sause i plan on using Famous Dave's Devils Spit to spice it up a bit, i also used chicken breasts cut into chunks for chicken nuggets it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
I'm not sure what I did wrong, but mine turned out awful. I ended up trying to finish it in the oven. I don't think I've had something turn out so bad since before I got married 16 years ago. I recommend a trial run of this before making it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
I was looking for a great recipe for Fried Chicken with coating that would not be soggy or fall off. I found it. If your coating is soggy you do not have your oil hot enough. I am also not sure why others are criticizing the name of the recipe and docking stars for that. A cook is allowed to name their recipe however they see fit. To heck with all you who think this is not "southern". It is as southern as Hot Sauce and Jambalaya in my book. The coating is a bit messy, but somehow it was all worth it in the end. It is a great, crunchy, and spicy coating. This is not a traditional fried chicken recipe, but it is good and deserving of 5 stars. Thank you Jason!!! When I am in the mood, I will be choosing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
Southern Fried Chicken? With BBQ sauce? OK, this rebel will try it. I fried up this mess and wow, this is as southern as KFC... Drop the BBQ and use a good oil and fresh buttermilk. my .02
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Oswego, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States