A Southern Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
This was very good. I soaked the chicken in the buttermilk mixture like others said. That helped the flavor get down into the meat. I think I'll keep using this one for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Wilson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Martinsville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roseau, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
This is wonderful chicken and will be on my table often. I also marinated overnight in the buttermilk mixture. This is real Southern fried chicken like my grandmother used to make! I found 375 too hot so cooked at 300. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orofino, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I felt this recipe would've been better if i used a deeper pan to fry the chicken in....although my wife loved the batter...i dont think it would have made a difference to the taste.....alot of seasoning and i didnt taste flavor in the chicken itself
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I subbed white rice flour for the all purpose flour and this recipe kicks butt!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Kiss the chef! This was fantastic spicey, moist, juicy on the inside, fried chicken when marinated overnight as suggested. It looks great too. I had to stop the kids from eating it all before it hit the dinner table. No leftovers and not a word during dinner good. That's a five star when the kids are quietly shoveling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
Absoolutely wonderful! I fixed this for a family gathering and it was obviously a big hit. I couldn't cook it fast enough, they were standing in line waiting for it to come out of the deep fryer. The second time I fixed it, I wisened up and made it the night before and it was delicious served cold. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
We liked the extra depth of flavor that the bbq/steak & worster added.. didn't use as much of the bbq tho. Remember to flour the pieces first before egging and re breading.. it adheres much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNANDREW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parksville, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
this recipe was delicious and amazing!!! It was the most tasty fried chicken I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
Was messy, yet fun. The batter didn't always stick to the chicken, but by far the best fried chicken recipe I have ever tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I didn't like this at all. It was incredibly messy to prepare, and the end result of the coating was thick and tasteless. I was hoping for something lighter and crisper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Fried Chicken

Watch how to make this top-rated classic.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States