A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have the secret. You cannot ruin a bird...you can't overcook it. If you do slightly overcook it, the dark meat will be finally done completely...if you know what I mean..ever turkey you have ever seen has it. You will not see the streaks of uncooked dark meat. The secret, a five gallon bucket and a 20 pound bird...(size does not matter). Brining is it. I will NEVER do a bird without it. This recipe is perfect...but brining makes it completely fool proof. 3/4 cup sugar, salt, tablespoon of pepper, cup of boiling water per gallon of water for brine. You melt the sugar and salt in the boiling water, put it in the water to make the brine. I use about half a gallon of ice to keep the water good and cold..then put the bucket in the fridge. The first time my wife saw that, she freaked. Now she just parts the red sea (full refrigerator) and removes a shelf or two. Brine is the secret...no way to mess a turkey again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
very good recipe for traditional turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this last night for an early Thanksgiving meal and it was amazing! My BF doesn't really like turkey because he says it is always dry... He loved this and was shocked at how juicy and flavorful it was! I made a spice rub instead of just salt and pepper and it added so much to it without taking away from the turkey flavor, I omitted the stuffing and put an onion, some celery, and baby carrots,and butter in the cavity instead. Also seasoned inside and out and under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
This came out incredibly delicious and moist. I used a little more butter thoughout basting but otherwise it was awesome. Usually ham is the hit for us but this turkey made everyone rave!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I brined my turkey overnight first so used barely any salt or pepper and it turned out DELICIOUS and juicy. Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner said I was the new official turkey maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Fantastically delicious! This recipe offers my fave method for a juicy, tender and golden brown bird. Since I tried this recipe 2 years ago, my family has me cook the turkey every thanksgiving, christmas and easter, which fills me with so much pride and joy - thank you mum and grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bercia15

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
PERFECT! Juicy and tender! I added chopped garlic to the butter and rubbed the mixture everywhere. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty much except that I didn't add the water/chicken stock to the pan until after drippings had browned quite well. That made for a great gravy. I didn't tent the turkey either, and it turned out quite nicely brown. I spread butter slabs under the skin on each side of the turkey. I think an important thing to do is use a meat thermometer, too. I cooked the turkey until it was 180 degrees in the thickest part of the breast meat. It turned out to be the best turkey I've ever made. It was moist and done just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this recipe for my turkey last night but because my friend has a dairy allergy, I substituted mayo for the butter rubbed on the turkey. I ended up uncovering it sooner as well to let the mayo melt, maybe after an hour and a half instead of two and a half. The gravy I made with the drippings was one of the best I have ever made. Thanks for the easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! I rubbed some butter mixed with rosemary between the skin and the breast for extra moistness. I used chicken stock instead of turkey stock and basted every half and hour or so, replacing the stock as necessary. The turkey was SO moist and delicious! It received rave reviews from everyone. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRIDAGIRL_36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States