A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I started using this recipe 3 years ago when I was making my first turkey and I've used it every year since. It's fail proof and produces a delicious turkey! I add a couple more spices but that's it! Oh & I don't stuff my turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I think it should be clarified, that the temperature of the bird depends on where you're taking the temperature. If the thigh, then 180, but if the breast.. you want 165. In addition, I like to loosely tent my bird and let it sit for at least 45 minutes before carving. That is the perfect amount of time to get all your other sides baked, prepped and served - and insures a juicy, beautiful bird. The Butterball website has some nice roasting tips, but they don't recommend the foil tent.. I have always roasted my bird this way too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Thank God some people are not afraid to stuff a turkey ! This is the simplest, tried and true receipe I've made for years and as long as you don't overcook it it comes out moist and beautifully browned. I do rub the turkey with butter or put butter under the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Excellent recipe! This is the way I cook my turkeys (except I do not cover them with the foil at the beginning of cooking. If they start to over-brown, then I will tent towards the end, but this is rarely an issue, to be honest). For those who found their turkey wasn't cooked after many hours in the oven, one of three things was the culprit: 1) you might have overstuffed your turkey making it difficult to cook it clear through to the center. 2) you didn't have your oven temp correct, or 3) your turkey was not totally thawed. And to be honest, for those who found their turkey turned out rubbery or dry, sometimes it's not the cooking method, but the bird itself. Not all are created equal. Perhaps try a different brand of turkey next time and see if you get better results. And just a side note: I do not stuff my turkey, I make my dressing on the side and bake it in its own dish, so my turkeys always cook perfectly and in a timely manner and come out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Last thanksgiving, my borfriend and I tried this recipe, and everyone loved it! Even my mom who has been cooking as long as I can remember said it was the juciest turkey she had ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Made this recipe as "practice"before the big day. I'm not good in a kitchen and I almost felt like julia child's when people kept complimenting my cooking!!! I will be using this recipe again on Thanksgiving Day !! Thank you soooo much for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I "road tested" this recipe with the largest roast chicken I could find. Sure, it came out very juicy and had a beautiful color, but in the end I was disappointed. My husband said it tasted rubbery, and to me it was too salty. I think tenting it "steamed it" (as referenced by another reviewer). Maybe it would work better with turkey, as it is not as tender as chicken, but even so, it needed something, like different herbs on the skin; for me, the flavor was just not there. I did put butter under the skin and put celery, onions and carrots in the roasting pan and in the bird, and it was still lacking. The best thing I could say was that it made a good gravy. I am going to use tonight's leftovers to make chicken soup and use my regular turkey recipe this Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I have tried to cook turkeys different ways, different brands, fresh, frozen, organic and wild. I needed some valuable space in my freezer, so out came a free 15# I got last Thanksgiving. Followed the recipe as shown, I got a beautiful centerpiece bird for my 12 guests, that was moist and cooked to perfection. Sad thing, not many leftovers. You cant miss with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
This is my usual turkey method. To avoid losing heat during basting, I find it helpful to kick up the heat to 450 while the oven is open and then turn it back down about minute after you close the door again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlessandraM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Turned out perfect, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States