A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
not that this needs more rave reviews but this came out fantastic. It was my first turkey and I cooked it in an electric roaster, popping it in the oven for 30 min just to brown it a bit more. Came out moist, brown and amazing. I am now the official Thanksgiving chef in my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My first roast turkey ever and it was perfect! Used the stuffing recipe from another turkey on this site. Placed it on top of carrots. Used chicken broth and didn't need even half as it never dried up. Also, my family is Hispanic so I always add oregano to the salt/pepper mix. The turkey was moist, flavorful, very delightful. My family was quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Santiago De Los Caballeros, Santiago, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was my first time roasting a turkey. It turned out beautifully - a crisp, golden brown skin and very juicy meat. Only complaint is that so much juice stayed in the bird that I had to use chicken broth in my gravy, as there weren't many drippings. Definitely worth it, though - I can't ever remember Thanksgiving turkey being so juicy. Tip: Always let the turkey sit after you pull it out of the oven. I've had turkey carved immediately and carved after a half hour or so, and it's definitely juicier when you give it a chance to rest and reabsorb the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I followed this recipe for my first ever Thanksgiving and it turned out perfect. Everyone raved about my turkey. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
This was my first turkey!! Super simple and super yummy!! Everyone loved it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Great way to roast a turkey! I have a roasting pan with a lid. I roasted the turkey with the lid on for the first two hours and then removed the lid for the last part of the cooking time. I rubbed the turkey with butter and added chicken broth to the pan as per the directions. I did not bother with basting the turkey while I had the lid on. I did baste about every 30 minutes after I removed the lid. The result was a very moist bird with beautiful crisp skin. One other suggestion, I like to buy a fresh bird whenever possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
First time I cook a turkey and it was just perfect. Very juicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ysidro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Great recipe! I used a Creole seasoning rather than salt and black pepper. I used chicken stock ... grabbed the wrong box. Overall ... great turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gi2020

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Truckee, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I used this recipe for this Thanksgiving and it was the best turkey I have made so far. It was tender and juicy even the breast which I always manage to dry up. I did use chicken broth cause I couldn't find turkey but it did just fine. I will be using this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This was so easy and moist. I will not look for another way to cook a turkey. It made the best gravy as well. I let it rest the 30 minutes and was still steaming hot when I did cut into it. Thank you Syd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States