A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I made my first turkey for Thanksgiving. I used this as a base for the cooking aspect as I was unsure of how to cook it. The only things done differently was I used a Cajun seasoning blend made by my local meat market (it is native to the South). I also injected almost a whole bottle of Creole Butter marinade. For basting I used Swanson Chicken Stock (not broth). Poor turkey, he didn't stand a chance once he was out of the oven. The thing was seriously demolished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashley
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This was my first turkey I made and it was so easy! The meat is so juicy, i was so surprised. I basted every hour for the first 2.5 hours and then for the second half i basted every 30 minutes. Also I put butter, salt and pepper between the skin and the breast meat. I also made gravy out of the drippings and it was also delicious (but a bit salty). I am glad this was so successful since it was my first turkey that I made myself, and I am only 17 years old. woohoo! If this is your first time roasting a turkey I strongly suggest you use this recipe, its pretty hard to go wrong with this. Happy roasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This was my first turkey and it came out beautiful golden and very moist! It was a winner at our table this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
I was strictly looking for time & temp instrux, & as usual, slow&low is the way 2 go! Mine took slightly longer than 4 hrs & I jacked up to 400 toward the end for crispy skin, but still VERY juicy. I used Tony Chachere's cajun seasoning in lieu of S&P. Also, I prefer my dressing baked outside of the bird & stuffed the cavity with an onion, celery stalk & carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Turnin40EatinBetter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: North Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was my first turkey I've ever made by myself, and it turned out amazing. The color was so beautiful. Thank you Syd for making me a star cook this Thanksgiving. (I did follow other suggestions such as adding butter and apple slices under the skin and quartered onions, celery and apples inside the cavity.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Just like the name says. Simply Perfect. I used to brine or dry cure my turkey, which was a chore because I have to make a large turkey. But this turns out perfectly every time. I put the neck and gibblets in the roasting pan and there are plenty of juices to make the perfect turkey gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Knightcraft

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
not that this needs more rave reviews but this came out fantastic. It was my first turkey and I cooked it in an electric roaster, popping it in the oven for 30 min just to brown it a bit more. Came out moist, brown and amazing. I am now the official Thanksgiving chef in my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My first roast turkey ever and it was perfect! Used the stuffing recipe from another turkey on this site. Placed it on top of carrots. Used chicken broth and didn't need even half as it never dried up. Also, my family is Hispanic so I always add oregano to the salt/pepper mix. The turkey was moist, flavorful, very delightful. My family was quite impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Santiago De Los Caballeros, Santiago, Dominican Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This was my first time roasting a turkey. It turned out beautifully - a crisp, golden brown skin and very juicy meat. Only complaint is that so much juice stayed in the bird that I had to use chicken broth in my gravy, as there weren't many drippings. Definitely worth it, though - I can't ever remember Thanksgiving turkey being so juicy. Tip: Always let the turkey sit after you pull it out of the oven. I've had turkey carved immediately and carved after a half hour or so, and it's definitely juicier when you give it a chance to rest and reabsorb the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I followed this recipe for my first ever Thanksgiving and it turned out perfect. Everyone raved about my turkey. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States