A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I'm pretty sure I did something wrong! Though I don't know how! Haha. The breasts were great & perfect. They had so much moisture & flavor, but the legs weren't even done. We had to throw them away. I barely had enough for my guests. I guess I'll try again. Maybe I missed something because I was so busy making everything else too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Hall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glidden, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mount Holly, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Turkey came out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wow! My turkey turned out perfectly and I am a beginner. Basting every 1/2 hour made a big difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
I made this recipe last year simply as stated. I thought it was great. This year, we decided to brine our 14 turkey for the first time. To 'brine' its not difficult but requires a bit of work. We boiled a stockpot of water and tossed in some garlic, shallots, thyme, sage, rosemary, peppercorns, and coarse kosher salt. You would bring to a boil and then allow the mixture to completely cool. Once cooled, clean and prepare the bird; place in the stockpot. We left this permeate overnight. The next day, the recipe was followed except for a couple details. Instead of using butter, we placed the same 3 herbs used in the brine under the skin of the breast and used the awesome sausage, apple, and cranberry stuffing recipe from this website inside the bird cavity. The end result was the best and most tender turkey I have ever had in MY LIFE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by > AE <

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orefield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
The first turkey I have ever cooked. It came out great! Moist and yummy. I would use this recipe again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKBUZZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
It's true ~ perfect turkey. You can use chicken broth as it is more readily available. And the gravy, made from the drippings and chicken broth has more flavor than turkey stock. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pompanogirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
It was truly unbelievable how well this turned out. I made a butter rub with poultry seasoning and fresh herbs to spread under the skin while it roasted and the flavor was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
It doesn't get any easier then this recipe. I had a golden and flavorful (I used the Simple Chicken Brine recipe) turkey for Christmas dinner. Followed all the directions as stated except for removing the foil at 2.5 hours. I don't think I did that until the last 30 minutes. The turkey seemed to just brown under the cover from the basting every 30 mins alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Just like grandma used to make is right! This was just perfect! This one is going in the cookbook to use every time I make a turkey. ((the crowd goes wild)) DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearlake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
When we finally ate, the turkey was wonderful...juicy and delicious BUT all the moisture from it cooking almost did my oven in first! Must admit I was a bit confused about the foil tent and basting...would have thought the tent would eliminate the need for basting...anyway after one or two tries, I just laid the foil on top of the bird rather than tucking it over the pan entirely and let it take care of itself. Two and a half hours into cooking, I removed it and basted every half hour until, almost done, my oven started beeping incessantly as if the timer was going off. Only problem was I wasn't using the timer! Having never had a problem before, I wasn't sure what to do when faced with an F2 message blinking on the touchpad/screen. Cancel seemed the logical option so I tried that first followed by every button I could find...all to no avail. Although the turkey was almost cooked, my sides in the lower oven still had a ways to go, so simply leaving the ovens off entirely wasn't a great option. (Thoughts of finishing up on the barbeque ensued.) As a last resort, my husband resorted to turning off the circuit breaker entirely which finally quieted things...until switched back on, I tried to restart everything only to be greeted by a blinking/beeping F4 "message"! Muttering a few choice letters of our own by then, we turned everything off again and left it off for 10-15 minutes. Fortunately that seemed to do the trick and we eventually were able to resume cooking. That
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States