A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Wonderfully delicious! The only change I made was mixing a few herbs to the butter prior to rubbing it inside, beneath the skin and over the bird. I also threw three garlic cloves inside the bird since we made a pan of stuffing. My first Thanksgiving turkey was absolutely perfect! Moist, tasty and simply delicious! Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adrienne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
This recipe, followed as written, was good, but not outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleescoolmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Simple enough. I didn't have turkey stock so I used chicken. It turned out nice enough, but if served without gravy/cranberry sauce, then it would have been a disappointing turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
perfect and moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
I just made my 1st BIG turkey on Thanksgiving. And this recipe was a HUGE help with timing and temps. And the butter and salt/pepper and turkey stock helped so much with the flavor. My family said it was the best turkey they had....so thank you!!!! I actually used black peppercorn and sea salt. And didn't use stuffing I stuffed it with onions and celery. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
Oh yeah! This is a simply perfect turkey.I skipped the stuffing. I don't stuff my turkey, ever. I had a 12 lb. turkey so mine was done in 2 hrs. at 350* I cut slits in the turkey skin and stuffed it with the bits of butter instead of rubbing it on. I sprinkled it with poultry seasoning too, but forgot the salt and pepper. I used 1 1/2 cans of chicken broth and only basted it once. I did cook this in a roaster with the lid on. It still got a beautiful golden even with the lid on! Thanks, I got lots of Mmmmmms. My husband even said I outdid myself this year and it was the best turkey yet. Easy Excellent recipe!!!! UPDATE: 2010: I made this for hubby's work event using a 22 lb. bird and fixed it a day ahead then refrigerated it, hubby took it whole, carved it up there and they reheated it. He got raves from everyone over this being the best turkey they ever ate! And that was a group of 24 people. HE said even those who said they don't like turkey ate seconds. Thanks for the awesome easy recipe!!! I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I have roasted many turkeys, but this was the best turkey ever! I did make a few changes; I did the first 1/2 hour at 425 and then lowered the temp to 325. I used a mixture of melted butter and olive oil. I used Penzey's poultry seasoning instead of the salt and pepper. I used chicken broth and found I did need to add some every 1/2 hour. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This turkey tasted fantastic. Now, after years of struggling to figure out the best and easiest way to make a good amount of rich turkey gravy, I have the answer. I didnt have any turkey stock but had plenty of chicken broth. I used this at the bottom of the pan along with the neck, giblets, whole carrots, celery stalks, 2 small onions and a couple of sprigs of fresh rosemary and made some of the best gravy ever. I made sure to use a fat seperater cup though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvainia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
This is the first year I cooked Thanksgiving dinner at my house and first year I made a Turkey. I used this recipe and everyone loved it. The turkey was very juicy and tender. It also looked just like his picture, beautiful golden brown. It was very easy to make and a huge success at our house today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States