A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I brined my turkey overnight first so used barely any salt or pepper and it turned out DELICIOUS and juicy. Everyone at Thanksgiving dinner said I was the new official turkey maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Fantastically delicious! This recipe offers my fave method for a juicy, tender and golden brown bird. Since I tried this recipe 2 years ago, my family has me cook the turkey every thanksgiving, christmas and easter, which fills me with so much pride and joy - thank you mum and grandma.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bercia15

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
PERFECT! Juicy and tender! I added chopped garlic to the butter and rubbed the mixture everywhere. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I followed the recipe pretty much except that I didn't add the water/chicken stock to the pan until after drippings had browned quite well. That made for a great gravy. I didn't tent the turkey either, and it turned out quite nicely brown. I spread butter slabs under the skin on each side of the turkey. I think an important thing to do is use a meat thermometer, too. I cooked the turkey until it was 180 degrees in the thickest part of the breast meat. It turned out to be the best turkey I've ever made. It was moist and done just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this recipe for my turkey last night but because my friend has a dairy allergy, I substituted mayo for the butter rubbed on the turkey. I ended up uncovering it sooner as well to let the mayo melt, maybe after an hour and a half instead of two and a half. The gravy I made with the drippings was one of the best I have ever made. Thanks for the easy delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Excellent recipe! I rubbed some butter mixed with rosemary between the skin and the breast for extra moistness. I used chicken stock instead of turkey stock and basted every half and hour or so, replacing the stock as necessary. The turkey was SO moist and delicious! It received rave reviews from everyone. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRIDAGIRL_36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
This was a really good simple recipe. Very simple to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Holy cow...follow this recipe to a T and you will have a beautiful, golden brown, delicious and juicy turkey!We made this full size at Thanksgiving and again today, only half size, and both turkeys were perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is a good guide line to follow. I use my giblets from the turkey to boil in chicken stock with onions and celery, for the stuffing. I've really never had to put stock or water in the pan, the turkey makes enough. And using a digital thermometer is so handy, just pop it in the thigh when you start, when it reaches 175* take the turkey out because the tempeture still riseses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was perfect!! I used chicken stock instead and it came out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika D. Melrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

How to Roast a Turkey

See a simple beginner-friendly method for roasting a moist, beautiful turkey.

How to Prep and Roast Turkey

Watch a very simple method for prepping and roasting turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States