A Scotsman's Shepherd Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I made the recipe as written but doubled the beer gravy. That was my first lamb dish and I was pleased with how it turned out. my son on the other hand is not a fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
This recipe is awesome. I made it with ground turkey and mashed feuxtatoes instead of mashed potatoes making it fairly healthy without sacrificing the amazing flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
This was very good, even though I used ground beef and ground turkey instead of lamb! I doubled the gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was WONDERFUL!!!! A lot of steps but well worth it. It was soupier than I wanted it to be. It didn't thicken into a gravy, but that was probably my fault! The flavor was superb and my kids all loved it. I was glad that I had splurged on the ground lamb too :) Thank you for sharing. This will be the only Shepherd's Pie I will use for now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Tried it with three meat combo of ground veal, pork and beef, absolutely love this recipe. Kids devour it and we can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
This is, hands down, the best shepherds pie recipe Ever!!! I didn't have fresh carrots, so I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies. I added a minced shallot and minced garlic to the potatoes. I didn't have enough lamb, so I mixed some sausage in to make up the difference and to add a bit of saltiness to the meat. Finally, I layered the meat, then the veggies, and potatoes on top. I baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes because it had cooled a bit by the time I got it put together, and then I topped it with cheese, parsley, paprika, and put it under the broiler till the cheese bubbled. My whole family loved it, including my daughter, who likes nothing I make. The changes I made were due to personal preference, not because I felt the recipe needed changed. The beer gravy is what makes this recipe amazing, so, no matter what you do, don't change that part at all. Except, of course, if you want more gravy. Next time, I will double the gravy and pour it over the potatoes. It's just so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
This is the second time I've made the recipe and my kids and I love it. It has a lot of steps, but the more you make it, the easier it gets. It was significantly easier the second time I made it than the first time. But I did change it a bit. I used ground beef instead of lamb (and I cooked the beef in the olive oil for flavor - I just drained real well) and I used beef broth instead of beer (didn't have it on hand). Otherwise, I followed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelsea Rice
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
This was AMAZING! My first time making Shepherds pie. My carrots went bad so I used a can of corn instead. I also used ground beef instead of lamb because we're on a budget. I made a double batch to freeze one and only had an 11.2 oz Guinness, so I added 5 oz of water to bring it to the required 16 oz. Definitely going in my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
This was delicious. Even better the next day when the flavors develop. Everyone including my neighbors asked for the recipe and cleaned their plates. I only added more veggies as suggested...otherwise the recipe is perfect as is. Thank you so much for sharing!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is a great recipe! Will definitely make again, maybe adding more veggies next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha Thompson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States