A-Plus Hot Chocolate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
We have updated this recipe to include 1 (5 ounce) can evaporated milk as per the original submission. - The Staff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
very good. The first review reflected incorrect recipe. The milk had been ommitted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEISLORD5

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
GREAT HOT CHOCOLATE! Excellent for cold days. i added some marshmallows it it was so good. my whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I would give this 100 stars if I could! I was looking for something quick and easy and this is amazing. My favorite hot chocolate in the universe! So rich, it is actually creamy... MMMMM.... I first made it with sweetened condensed milk, then, ran out, so I just used 2 tablespoons of sugar instead. Tastes exactly the same. No need for whipped cream or marshmallows. Made some & took it to my husband at work. He said it was too rich! No way! It is magical. I usually only like to try recipies with lots of ratings, but, this is a keeper. I keep going to the store for evaporated milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I didn't have evaporated milk so I used some non-dairy french vanilla coffe creamer and it tasted great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula T
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
What's not to love about this recipe? It's chocolaty and warm and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
This is really rich. I make this for my 13 year old son who is very tall and skinny. He likes it with chocolate condensed milk best. I also add a dash of half & half for thickness and heavy whipping cream ( whipped with sugar) to top it off. Very heavy calories. Of course if this is still not enough, marshmallow cream or marshmallows may be added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Very smooth, very sweet, and very rich - delicious! My son requested this for his class "winter party" and they all loved it. We served it in an air pot and it stayed fairly well mixed. At home, we make the base and keep in the fridge. Just stir, pour a little in a mug, and add water for a serving. Heats quickly and froths up in the microwave - about 35 secs per coffee mugful. 16 oz is a LARGE single serving. Try scaling to 6 servings - makes enough for about 15 mugs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBBEHR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Quite nice but the water needed is too much. I put a lesser water and the recipe is almost perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
I made this for my boys this morning, only using a saucepan to heat it up. They loved it but I thought it was WAY too sweet. I'm surprized my kids weren't bouncing off the walls. If I were to make this again, I'd cut out the sugar and cut the evaporated milk in half and use whole milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Hot Cocoa

See how to make creamy, old-fashioned hot chocolate.

How to Make Chocolate Shakes

See how easy it is to make a thick, creamy chocolate shake.

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States