A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scott Simmons
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! I never rate a recipe without doing it exactly as written. The instructions missed the bacon fat which was in the ingredient list (I remembered to include it). It was very good - a thick, melt-in-your mouth, hot dog "tempura!" In my second batch, I replaced the corn meal with crushed Onion Flavored Sun Chips, reduced the salt by half, and added 1 tsp paprika and 1/2 tsp onion powder. The sugar in the recipe cooks the batter very fast, so I used room-temperature hot dogs before dipping it into the batter. An A.B. TIP: Put batter into a glass for easier dipping. The resulting flavors were exciting and surprising! When deep frying, they didn't want to flip to cook the other side, so I weighed them down with a perforated disk. So wonderful! Perfect shape, texture and taste. TRY THIS, FOLKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
266 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Simmons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I had been searching for a homemade recipe and found this!! Took the advice on using a tall glass to dip in!! Great tip! I also tried cutting the hot dogs in half for a bite sized treat! Also, I had the oven on a low 200 F to keep the dogs warm until served...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
209 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I love this recipe. I had to make additional batter, about 2 1/2 times the original amount (we like a good coating). I also dipped the raw hot dog in flour before dipping it into the batter, which I also put in a tall cup. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
when I wrote this recipe it was to cut up the hot dogs into thirds. My deep fryer is too small to put sticks into the dogs. I guess they can change directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
We wanted something fun, fried, and quintessentially American to be the star of our 4th of July feast, and these really fit the bill. We used veggie dogs and omitted the bacon drippings, and made sure the dogs were at room temperature before dusting with corn starch and dipping in the batter. Pulling them out of the batter with a twisting motion worked beautifully to keep the batter on the dog. As soon as I put one in the deep fryer, my husband dove in with tongs and pulled them up from the bottom of the fryer by the stick so they wouldn't adhere to the fryer basket. We drained these on a rack over a paper towel lined pan, and kept them warm in a 200 degree oven until all were finished. We ate these with traditional yellow mustard slathered on with a brush, just like they did it at the local corn dog stand when I was a child. Hot, diggedy, corn dogs! These are just the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Better late than never!!! I'm soon to be 75 years old and have made enough corn dogs in my time to supply the Super Bowl. Finally!! The best tasting batter I have EVER made. It has to be the buttermilk and baking soda that makes the difference. Roby, all you need are a few helpful hints and you will be ready for the county fair. :) 1. To keep the batter from sliding off the wieners, dust them with flour before putting them in the batter. The flour acts as a glue for the batter. 2. Put the batter in a tall glass...you can dip the wiener down into it. 3. As you are pulling the wiener from the batter, gently twirl the stick. This helps keep the batter on, too. It's all about keeping the batter neatly coating the wiener!! 4. The last trick is...(and you have to work sort of fast...) When you take the corndog out of the batter and put it in the hot grease, hold it upright, put it about 2 inches down in the grease and hold it about 3 seconds, then carefully drop it in the grease. I'm not sure what this does but it works like a charm and my corn dogs never split open. Okay! That's it. Time to eat the corn dogs I just made. I already had the best looking corn dogs in the state...now I have the best tasting, too!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
A great corndog recipe. We also cut the hotdogs up and cooked them in the batter. Anyone out there know how to keep the batter on the hot dogs?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
This was a great recipe. Was perfect for family movie night and the kids and hubby were asking when we were having it again before they were even done! One suggestion though. Dust the hot dogs in flour before battering them so the batter doesn't fall off, grease splattered everywhere with the first one but after i used flour no more problems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Awesome taste! We buy these at the grocery store, but they are so expensive I looked here for an alternative. I used the batter to make onion rings as well which turned out very crispy and tasty. Make sure you dry the dogs off first and coat in flour so that the batter will stick. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cardinal, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
These turned out really well. I've tried a few other corn dog batters and this was by far the best. I left out the bacon drippings and it didn't seem to matter since they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States