A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I halved this recipe for 10 hotdogs and there was still a lot of batter left. The flavor of the batter was very good but it wasn't thick enough on the hotdog to make it like the store bought ones. It was crunchy and tasty but just not quite thick enough for what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
cooked to fast on the outside none in the inside, then I turned the oil down but I felt it was just soaking up the grease then. Not crunchy like I wanted but they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qcrazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Followed recipe as written, warmed hot dogs in 175 degree oven while preping batter so they were about room temp before drying with paper towel, and rolled each in corn starch then stuck on a disposible wooden chopstick. The batter stuck beautifully -- didn't come off when frying. Great recipe, tasty and fun to make. Fried outside using the burner on the propane grill so the house stayed cool and fry-oil-smell free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
"Thank You" for sharing this recipe. I did not have the bacon drippings, so that was omitted. I used "sour milk" since I was out of buttermilk (1 cup milk plus 2 TBSP. vinegar). My husband and two teenage boys loved the corn dogs. Brought some over to my twin sister and her family, they also enjoyed this recipe. I will use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
i followed the recipe except i didnt use bacon drippings. the batter was very good. the only problems i had was the batter kept sticking to the deep fryer basket and the batter kept coming off the hot dogs. these problems had nothing to do with the recipe, but everything to do with ME not having a chance to read other reviews. my 4 yr old and hubby loved them even though they didnt turn out as pretty as the picture. LOL i wil make these again and i will use the other suggestions so these will turn out perfect. thanks from a novice cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
This is actually alot harder than I thought it would be, lol. I halved the recipe, and cut my hot dogs in half. For some reason, the batter wasn't enough. I followed the trick about coating the wieners in cornstarch before dipping and it really didn't help; maybe flour would work better? Also, using a bowl for dipping doesn't work. Wish I would've believed the reviewers that recommended using a tall glass. I used less sugar and omitted the bacon drippings, but added chili, garlic and onion powders to the batter for more flavour. Make sure you fry these in very hot oil until they are a little more than golden brown to get a nice, crisp coating. Not exactly like store-bought... My fiance and son didn't care for them so I may not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Good, but like all homemade corndog recipes I've tried, they just seem to be missing that one little "something."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeschoolMom78

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
My family and I really loved these!! Did all the right things, like rolling room temperature dogs in corn starch, leaving the batter in the fridge for 1/2 an hour, and cooking them without the sticks, etc. I had no problems whatsoever and my daughter, the Pogo queen, gave 10 thumbs up!! The batter tasted funny with the bacon fat before cooking, but that wasn't a problem AFTER they were cooked. Four mins. and they were perfect!! Thank you so much for an outstanding recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
All I can say is.....mmmm good!! I didn't use the bacon fat (I thought frying was enough grease!) but used honey in place of it. It added a nice extra level of sweetness to it, but not a lot. I even used wheat flour, and they turned out wonderful! OH, and a tip: to get the batter to stick to the hot dogs better, roll them in cornstarch and brush off the excess before dipping into the batter. Makes the batter really stick, and works better than drying! Great recipe, thanks!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Very flavorful, tender yet a crunchy crust. Dogs came out looking like the picture. Didn't have sticks so used a fork stuck in the dogs. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States