A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Great Corn dogs,made them last night and everyone commented on the very good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianMcCo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Me and my husband went out and bought a deep fryer just so we could try this recipe, and we were'nt dissapointed! I read other reviewers say they had a hard time getting the corn mixture to stick, but if you dry the hot dogs really well it will stick just fine. These corn dogs were very tasty! We'll be making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Delicious corn dogs... so good, we dipped kielbasa sausage into the batter as well to make the mega-awesome "corn sausages". We added a little honey for extra sweetness, and a touch more flour to compensate for the extra moistness the honey added. The one and only downfall is that they soak up a lot of grease and can't for the life of me figure out how to avoid that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Even though the batter held on nicely to the hot dog, it really puffed up and got distorted in the frying oil. It tasted okay but too grainy and it flaked off onto our plates when we ate it. So it's not that it tasted bad but it is definitely NOT like a Fair corn dog in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was the best corn dog recipe I have tried! I LOVED them! I even tried it on mozzarella cheese sticks and it turned out well too!!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
I thought it was really good, but not state fair. I did the pat dry and dust with flour, really helped. But I also had to make my batter a bit thicker. I just added 1 tablespoon of flour at a time till it was nice and thick. I never buy butter milk, because it just gets wasted after the recipe, I made my own 1 cup milk 1 tablespoon of white vinegar. After putting coated hot dogs in oil, I had to tap them to remove them from the bottom of the pan. Worked out great! Even used the remaining mixture as funnel cake for dessert. Just dusted with powder sugar after i pulled out of the oil. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
These corn dogs turned out great and I even left the bacon drippings out.My fryer is small so I cut the hot dogs in half and fried three at a time.I had leftover batter so I just put it back in the fridge and made more the next day.I experimented with different hot dogs and we all agreed the all beef ones were the best.These were fun to make and it satisfied our craving for fair food : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
I halved this recipe for 10 hotdogs and there was still a lot of batter left. The flavor of the batter was very good but it wasn't thick enough on the hotdog to make it like the store bought ones. It was crunchy and tasty but just not quite thick enough for what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
cooked to fast on the outside none in the inside, then I turned the oil down but I felt it was just soaking up the grease then. Not crunchy like I wanted but they were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Qcrazy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Followed recipe as written, warmed hot dogs in 175 degree oven while preping batter so they were about room temp before drying with paper towel, and rolled each in corn starch then stuck on a disposible wooden chopstick. The batter stuck beautifully -- didn't come off when frying. Great recipe, tasty and fun to make. Fried outside using the burner on the propane grill so the house stayed cool and fry-oil-smell free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 168) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States