A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Great corn dogs! We used the big beef hot dogs like they sell at Costco. We have a rectangular deep fryer, so they fit in one at a time. The key to keeping the batter on is to dry the hot dogs well before you dip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Wonderful! We used Lil Smokies and it made the best mini-corndogs! My kids LOVED them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was top of the line fair food. We totally enjoyed these corn dogs. I definitely will keep this recipe in mind when we get the urge for fair food again!Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I followed others' advice and double dipped the dogs after letting them fry for about 30 seconds. Authentic flavor, would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Loved them! My kids ate them so fast I couldn't keep up with making them! So I am for sure making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann Raczkowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were great! I rolled the hot dogs in cornstarch and had no trouble at all with the batter not sticking. The batter didn't cover all of two pounds of hot dogs, more like just over a pound, but that was plenty for us. I did add a couple of things to the batter, borrowed from another corn dog recipe--1/2 tsp. cayenne and 1/3 cup grated onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is a superb corn dog recipe! I initially made this using the exact ingredients listed and it was delicious but ended up changing some because they were unavailable in our house. I discovered that substituting the exact amount of buttermilk with plain yogurt produced such a wonderful flavor which is even, to me, tastier than buttermilk. I honestly won't be using butter milk again. Also, I prefer a thicker and cakey dough for my corn dogs and lessening baking powder to 1 teaspoon and baking soda to 1/2 tsp made it perfect to me. Also, I tried making this without sugar and it was still very delicious and cooking it at a lower temp (160 c) made it crispy on the outside while still very moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
best corn dogs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Tried this out over the weekend with friends. These turned out really well, the dusting of flour on the hot dogs before dipping them in the batter definately helped! The only problem we had was that if the oil was too hot cooking the batter on the outside, there would still be some uncooked batter on the inside. Just try not to cook the dogs up too quickly! I'll be making these again, they were great! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I've made these 3 times and the best batch was made with turkey dogs & no bacon grease!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States