A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have tried other recipes but they were mediocre. This is by far the best... they batter didn't come off ( I made sure dogs were dry as suggested and dipped in flour first) and they were absolutely tasty.The only thing i changed is I ommited the bacon drippings and I just added a bit extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was't very impressed. Fairly easy to prepare, used the flour on the dogs trick, suggested by others. Didn't really taste like fair corn dogs......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very impressed we were able to make our own tasting so much like the ones we get from our fair. You won't regret trying this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
first of all i sibstitute the suguar with honney wich give a little extra,then greek yogurt and milk to subsitute de buttermilk wich is so much better theni fallow the recipice i dont eat pork so i didnt put bacon drip but have beef hot dog and flour the dogs before dipping in the batter wich help then dip it twice in the batter the batter was perfect think to old on to the dog didnt have stick to i fried them and in the end i put tooth peek in each side was delicious and will definetely do it again my 4 kids enjoy it and my nephew to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I was nervous since we don't fry much except pan frying. Instead we just put olive oil in a pot, checked the temperature with a candy thermometer, and had at it. Out only changes were that we used bacon bits (we don't eat red meat) and stuck the sticks in AFTER cooking. Made our fingers messier getting the dough on, but worked great. My seven year old said they were just like at the fair (yes, sometimes she does eat red meat when out! We're not absolutists or anything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendysdad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My daughter has been begging me to make corn dogs- yes, I tried it once but was a flop! So today, after Hurricane Irene left, I went out to get some ingredients. I got almost all except for the buttermilk. I thought I'd experiment and use sour cream instead. The rest is history! I followed all but just substituted an 8 oz tub sour cream + 1/3 cup milk for the buttermilk and no bacon drippings- it is still delish! We all love it! I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
Great corn dogs! We used the big beef hot dogs like they sell at Costco. We have a rectangular deep fryer, so they fit in one at a time. The key to keeping the batter on is to dry the hot dogs well before you dip them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Wonderful! We used Lil Smokies and it made the best mini-corndogs! My kids LOVED them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
This was top of the line fair food. We totally enjoyed these corn dogs. I definitely will keep this recipe in mind when we get the urge for fair food again!Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Great recipe! I followed others' advice and double dipped the dogs after letting them fry for about 30 seconds. Authentic flavor, would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States