A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I love fair corndogs and these are perfect. My neighbor had NEVER eaten a corndog and he and his family loved these too. I even used the bacon drippings. I have made them 3 times since finding this recipe. I couldn't find sticks so I cut wooden skewers in half and of course clipped the tip. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was my first time trying to make corndogs but my kids loved them. I did not add the bacon drippings because my family does not eat and it still tastes great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I had to really tweak this recipe -- I added more egg and more flour & corn meal, too. The batter kept exploding open even though I gently twirled the battered dogs in the oil at first. Once I fixed the batter, they turned out great. I'm going back to the Pioneer Woman's recipe next time - but I'll cut it in half (which is why I tried this one - it was a much smaller quantity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Followed the directions exactly and also some of the suggestions from other reviewers. Stuck the batter in the freezer in between batches to keep it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
excellent easy recipe my grandkids love these. I followed the recipe as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! Using all the tricks in the reviews, coating the dogs with corn starch first, putting the batter in a tall glass or mason jar and dipping the dogs in that and then swirling.. but I did have trouble at first with the batter fanning out in the hot oil until I read another review that said to "The last trick is...(and you have to work sort of fast...) When you take the corndog out of the batter and put it in the hot grease, hold it upright, put it about 2 inches down in the grease and hold it about 3 seconds, then carefully drop it in the grease." That tip kept the batter from fanning out in the hot oil! We will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Even though I followed all of the tips written by other reviewers, I still had some trouble with this recipe. The flavor was good, although it didn't produce the type of corn dog I thought it would. I prefer a cakey-type corn dog, this was light and almost lacey in texture. When dropping the dogs in the hot oil, the batter fried in a flat, almost pancake like shape around the hot dog. Not round, like in the photo. I flipped it over in the hot oil to fry the other side...but they were by no means round! I doubt if I would ever try this again...I will keep to the good ole fair corn dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Super easy, yummy, unhealthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My husband ate over half a package of the cheap hotdogs without blinking an eye. He can't wait for me to make them again with the good kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have used this recipe for two events the past month and everyone enjoyed. The batter was very tasty and easy to make. My family was impressed and have all asked for this recipe. Highly recommended!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States