A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I had been searching for a homemade recipe and found this!! Took the advice on using a tall glass to dip in!! Great tip! I also tried cutting the hot dogs in half for a bite sized treat! Also, I had the oven on a low 200 F to keep the dogs warm until served...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QAEDON
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! I never rate a recipe without doing it exactly as written. The instructions missed the bacon fat which was in the ingredient list (I remembered to include it). It was very good - a thick, melt-in-your mouth, hot dog "tempura!" In my second batch, I replaced the corn meal with crushed Onion Flavored Sun Chips, reduced the salt by half, and added 1 tsp paprika and 1/2 tsp onion powder. The sugar in the recipe cooks the batter very fast, so I used room-temperature hot dogs before dipping it into the batter. An A.B. TIP: Put batter into a glass for easier dipping. The resulting flavors were exciting and surprising! When deep frying, they didn't want to flip to cook the other side, so I weighed them down with a perforated disk. So wonderful! Perfect shape, texture and taste. TRY THIS, FOLKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
This receipe is fantastic!! My partner is American but we live in New Zealand. One of the things he has missed are Corn Dogs but now we can have them here too!! The kids and I just love them too! Now we know what we are having on July 4th.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I love this recipe. I had to make additional batter, about 2 1/2 times the original amount (we like a good coating). I also dipped the raw hot dog in flour before dipping it into the batter, which I also put in a tall cup. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
These turned out really well. I've tried a few other corn dog batters and this was by far the best. I left out the bacon drippings and it didn't seem to matter since they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
We wanted something fun, fried, and quintessentially American to be the star of our 4th of July feast, and these really fit the bill. We used veggie dogs and omitted the bacon drippings, and made sure the dogs were at room temperature before dusting with corn starch and dipping in the batter. Pulling them out of the batter with a twisting motion worked beautifully to keep the batter on the dog. As soon as I put one in the deep fryer, my husband dove in with tongs and pulled them up from the bottom of the fryer by the stick so they wouldn't adhere to the fryer basket. We drained these on a rack over a paper towel lined pan, and kept them warm in a 200 degree oven until all were finished. We ate these with traditional yellow mustard slathered on with a brush, just like they did it at the local corn dog stand when I was a child. Hot, diggedy, corn dogs! These are just the BEST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
These were great! Be careful with the temperature of the oil, because with the sugar in the batter, they do brown very quickly. However, you have to leave them in long enough to make sure the breading is cooked all the way through. Also, I keep a container of bacon fat in the fridge to add to various foods for flavoring. Hash brown potatoes are especially good cooked in bacon fat (just don't do it too often because it isn't very health conscious). Thank you, Roby, for a delicious and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This recipe is fantastic & so easy to make! The only change I made was leaving out the bacon drippings (I did not have any), and they still turned out perfectly. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIJEMINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
mmm...this was my first time trying a corn dog and it is so good!! really easy to make as well....I didn't use the bacon drippings as I didn't know where to. So good...must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2006
Did not have bacon fat, so omitted that yet my kids still proclaimed them very delicious. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Hot Dogs

Your kids will love these great ways to make, and eat, hot dogs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States