A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by QAEDON
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! I never rate a recipe without doing it exactly as written. The instructions missed the bacon fat which was in the ingredient list (I remembered to include it). It was very good - a thick, melt-in-your mouth, hot dog "tempura!" In my second batch, I replaced the corn meal with crushed Onion Flavored Sun Chips, reduced the salt by half, and added 1 tsp paprika and 1/2 tsp onion powder. The sugar in the recipe cooks the batter very fast, so I used room-temperature hot dogs before dipping it into the batter. An A.B. TIP: Put batter into a glass for easier dipping. The resulting flavors were exciting and surprising! When deep frying, they didn't want to flip to cook the other side, so I weighed them down with a perforated disk. So wonderful! Perfect shape, texture and taste. TRY THIS, FOLKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QAEDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
This recipe is fantastic & so easy to make! The only change I made was leaving out the bacon drippings (I did not have any), and they still turned out perfectly. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIJEMINI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
These were great! Be careful with the temperature of the oil, because with the sugar in the batter, they do brown very quickly. However, you have to leave them in long enough to make sure the breading is cooked all the way through. Also, I keep a container of bacon fat in the fridge to add to various foods for flavoring. Hash brown potatoes are especially good cooked in bacon fat (just don't do it too often because it isn't very health conscious). Thank you, Roby, for a delicious and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
Fantastic!!!! Even my picky kids loved these, and honestly they are just as good if not better than corndogs from the fair! Pouring the batter in a glass was an excellent idea. I used shish-kabob skewers then cut the pointy edge off and broke in half and they worked perfect. Part way through the recipe, I realized I didn't have any buttermilk, so I used 1 Cup whole milk and added 1 Tbsp butter, and they seemed to turn out just fine. the only thing I would do different would be to take the basket out of my deep fryer and just use it regular because the batter stuck to a couple. Thanks for an awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
These were okay. Not the easiest thing to make if you're not using a fry daddy. I fried them in a skillet so they ended up being rectangular shaped. I could have done without all the grease. Other than that, the taste was very close to county fair corndogs. Doubt I will ever make them again. It is easier to buy frozen corn dogs. Less mess, less grease- even if you fry them, and the taste is about the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamanunez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mohave Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
OH MY THERE IS NOT WORDS TO TELL HOW GOOD THESE ARE. THEY TASTE BETTER THAN ANY I HAVE EVER BOUGHT. WE DID NOT HAVE PLAIN FLOUR BUT I USED SELF RISING FLOUR AND JUST LEFT OUT THE BAKING POWDER AND SALT AND SOME HOW I FORGOT THE BACON FAT BUT THEY WERE STILL THE BEST. WILL KEEP THIS ONE AND MAKE ALOT. THANKS ROBY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
These had great flavor but the dipping mixture didn't stick to the hot dog very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
I had been searching for a homemade recipe and found this!! Took the advice on using a tall glass to dip in!! Great tip! I also tried cutting the hot dogs in half for a bite sized treat! Also, I had the oven on a low 200 F to keep the dogs warm until served...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
208 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I love this recipe. I had to make additional batter, about 2 1/2 times the original amount (we like a good coating). I also dipped the raw hot dog in flour before dipping it into the batter, which I also put in a tall cup. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
mmm...this was my first time trying a corn dog and it is so good!! really easy to make as well....I didn't use the bacon drippings as I didn't know where to. So good...must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States