A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Loved it! Easy to make, my first time making corn dogs. I didn't add bacon drippings...no reason...just didn't. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
So awesome that my love handles are singing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This recipe turned out great! I used wooden popsicle sticks and cut the hot dogs in thirds for an appetizer sized portion. I didn't have bacon drippings, so I used melted shortening instead and it worked great. They fried up nice and puffy. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
These turned out so good! I made sure the hot dogs were very dry and rubbed them in a little corn starch so that the batter would stick really good. I love this batter! I did one with a cheese stick instead of a hot dog. OMG!!! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
WOW - a hit with my entire family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
We liked how these turned out, though they don't look anything like the picture! I used expeller-pressed coconut oil to fry in, and they tasted terrific (no coconut flavor with expeller-pressed coconut oil) and fried up really well. I did one package of hot dogs dried, dredged in corn starch, then dipped in batter and despite having perfect-temp oil, the inside batter wasn't cooking. So I stopped dredging in corn starch, and I thinned the batter with a little milk, and the second package turned out MUCH better - cooked batter all the way through, and the corn dogs weren't so big. The first batch could barely fit in my kids' mouths! I wish I'd thinned it sooner. We'll definitely do this one again, and I don't think I'll change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brittfoodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
I really liked this recipe, I made it exactly as posted. I found it worked best if I dipped the corn dog, put it in the fryer for 30 sec, removed it and dipped it again and then cooked until golden. For the last four I added 1/4 tsp cayenne and 1 tbs red pepper sauce for an awesome spicy corn dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I just made these and turned out great. I don't have a deep fryer so just used oil in the bottom of one of my electric skillets turned to 350. Then used only one pack of cloverdale meats franks (red hotdogs). I cut them in thirds to make mini corn dogs. Dried them, rubbed with a small amount of corn starch and then let rest until room temp while preparing everything else. I didn't use the bacon drippings, but substitued honey also reduced the amt of sugar and also added 1/4 cup or more flour. Also used soured milk because i didn't have buttermilk. when dipping, I used my fingers, dipped and dropped straight into the oil before any fell off. It was perfect, nice coat, not too oily, crisp on the outside and completely done when i bite into them. Will be making them again and my kids loved them. Didn't have much left over but the stuff i did have, made fennel cakes, which were also fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Great Corn dogs,made them last night and everyone commented on the very good flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianMcCo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States