A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Loved them! My kids ate them so fast I couldn't keep up with making them! So I am for sure making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
These were great! I rolled the hot dogs in cornstarch and had no trouble at all with the batter not sticking. The batter didn't cover all of two pounds of hot dogs, more like just over a pound, but that was plenty for us. I did add a couple of things to the batter, borrowed from another corn dog recipe--1/2 tsp. cayenne and 1/3 cup grated onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This is a superb corn dog recipe! I initially made this using the exact ingredients listed and it was delicious but ended up changing some because they were unavailable in our house. I discovered that substituting the exact amount of buttermilk with plain yogurt produced such a wonderful flavor which is even, to me, tastier than buttermilk. I honestly won't be using butter milk again. Also, I prefer a thicker and cakey dough for my corn dogs and lessening baking powder to 1 teaspoon and baking soda to 1/2 tsp made it perfect to me. Also, I tried making this without sugar and it was still very delicious and cooking it at a lower temp (160 c) made it crispy on the outside while still very moist on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
best corn dogs ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Black Diamond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Tried this out over the weekend with friends. These turned out really well, the dusting of flour on the hot dogs before dipping them in the batter definately helped! The only problem we had was that if the oil was too hot cooking the batter on the outside, there would still be some uncooked batter on the inside. Just try not to cook the dogs up too quickly! I'll be making these again, they were great! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
I've made these 3 times and the best batch was made with turkey dogs & no bacon grease!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I tried these tonight in honor of National Corn Dog day. Our first dog was delicious, but we desire a little thicker batter, so the second attempt we did a double dip. Fried it once, dipped it, and fried it again. It was great! Followed the suggestion of caoting the outside in corn starch, and no problems. We will definetly have these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This recipe was very easy to put together and tasted GREAT!! My entire family enjoyed it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very good recipe. Love it but I need to find a oil that I can use that dont soak up alot of grease? Please help~ But the corndogs had a very good taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timpson, Texas, USA
Living In: Littlefield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Not a bad corn dog. I'm trying to find something to recreate the ones I found at Disneyland, and these are pretty close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States