A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
The best corn dogs ever!! My husband said it's better that fair one! Thanks a million, Roby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Better late than never!!! I'm soon to be 75 years old and have made enough corn dogs in my time to supply the Super Bowl. Finally!! The best tasting batter I have EVER made. It has to be the buttermilk and baking soda that makes the difference. Roby, all you need are a few helpful hints and you will be ready for the county fair. :) 1. To keep the batter from sliding off the wieners, dust them with flour before putting them in the batter. The flour acts as a glue for the batter. 2. Put the batter in a tall glass...you can dip the wiener down into it. 3. As you are pulling the wiener from the batter, gently twirl the stick. This helps keep the batter on, too. It's all about keeping the batter neatly coating the wiener!! 4. The last trick is...(and you have to work sort of fast...) When you take the corndog out of the batter and put it in the hot grease, hold it upright, put it about 2 inches down in the grease and hold it about 3 seconds, then carefully drop it in the grease. I'm not sure what this does but it works like a charm and my corn dogs never split open. Okay! That's it. Time to eat the corn dogs I just made. I already had the best looking corn dogs in the state...now I have the best tasting, too!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This was delicious! I made it just as suggested except that I used turkey dogs and didn't use the bacon fat because we don't eat pork. I took the suggestions of some others and let the hot dogs get to room temperature, dusted them with flour and twisted the dogs as I pulled them out of the batter and it all went perfectly. I LOVE that we can have corn dogs now!! I had some leftover batter so i buttered my muffin tin and made some cornbread muffins too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
WOW! These are fantastic! Super crunchy if you cook them a bit longer. We live in a very rural area and have little to no fast food access so these were a real treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I have tried other recipes but they were mediocre. This is by far the best... they batter didn't come off ( I made sure dogs were dry as suggested and dipped in flour first) and they were absolutely tasty.The only thing i changed is I ommited the bacon drippings and I just added a bit extra salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was't very impressed. Fairly easy to prepare, used the flour on the dogs trick, suggested by others. Didn't really taste like fair corn dogs......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by new2cooking
Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Very impressed we were able to make our own tasting so much like the ones we get from our fair. You won't regret trying this. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
first of all i sibstitute the suguar with honney wich give a little extra,then greek yogurt and milk to subsitute de buttermilk wich is so much better theni fallow the recipice i dont eat pork so i didnt put bacon drip but have beef hot dog and flour the dogs before dipping in the batter wich help then dip it twice in the batter the batter was perfect think to old on to the dog didnt have stick to i fried them and in the end i put tooth peek in each side was delicious and will definetely do it again my 4 kids enjoy it and my nephew to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I was nervous since we don't fry much except pan frying. Instead we just put olive oil in a pot, checked the temperature with a candy thermometer, and had at it. Out only changes were that we used bacon bits (we don't eat red meat) and stuck the sticks in AFTER cooking. Made our fingers messier getting the dough on, but worked great. My seven year old said they were just like at the fair (yes, sometimes she does eat red meat when out! We're not absolutists or anything).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kendysdad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
My daughter has been begging me to make corn dogs- yes, I tried it once but was a flop! So today, after Hurricane Irene left, I went out to get some ingredients. I got almost all except for the buttermilk. I thought I'd experiment and use sour cream instead. The rest is history! I followed all but just substituted an 8 oz tub sour cream + 1/3 cup milk for the buttermilk and no bacon drippings- it is still delish! We all love it! I wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakeybabe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States