A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! Using all the tricks in the reviews, coating the dogs with corn starch first, putting the batter in a tall glass or mason jar and dipping the dogs in that and then swirling.. but I did have trouble at first with the batter fanning out in the hot oil until I read another review that said to "The last trick is...(and you have to work sort of fast...) When you take the corndog out of the batter and put it in the hot grease, hold it upright, put it about 2 inches down in the grease and hold it about 3 seconds, then carefully drop it in the grease." That tip kept the batter from fanning out in the hot oil! We will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Even though I followed all of the tips written by other reviewers, I still had some trouble with this recipe. The flavor was good, although it didn't produce the type of corn dog I thought it would. I prefer a cakey-type corn dog, this was light and almost lacey in texture. When dropping the dogs in the hot oil, the batter fried in a flat, almost pancake like shape around the hot dog. Not round, like in the photo. I flipped it over in the hot oil to fry the other side...but they were by no means round! I doubt if I would ever try this again...I will keep to the good ole fair corn dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Super easy, yummy, unhealthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
My husband ate over half a package of the cheap hotdogs without blinking an eye. He can't wait for me to make them again with the good kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I have used this recipe for two events the past month and everyone enjoyed. The batter was very tasty and easy to make. My family was impressed and have all asked for this recipe. Highly recommended!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was almost as good as the boughten ones but you can still taste the corn meal for me it didnt dissolve but so delious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina.Veysey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
My son loves these! The flavor was spot on. We did stickless dogs so they would fit into my dutch oven to fry on the stove. Next time, we plan to double the batter and sweeten with honey instead of sugar. The hubs loves honey corn dogs. Can't wait to try them again! Thanks for a wonderful, nostalgic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
Dude and Dudettes, I fed a slew of coworkers with this recipe and they went nuts! They transformed from adults into children before my very eyes, as they devoured these delicious treats. I made a double batch and had to add a little more flour to get the thickness I desired. It was enough for 16 Nathans hot dogs and a few twinkies, oreo's , almond joy and snicker bars. Even the most reserved protester rolled their eyes as they took a bite of that coated almond joy- oh, i forgot this was about strictly corn dogs. Anyways- two big thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joejoebic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
The best corn dogs ever!! My husband said it's better that fair one! Thanks a million, Roby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
Better late than never!!! I'm soon to be 75 years old and have made enough corn dogs in my time to supply the Super Bowl. Finally!! The best tasting batter I have EVER made. It has to be the buttermilk and baking soda that makes the difference. Roby, all you need are a few helpful hints and you will be ready for the county fair. :) 1. To keep the batter from sliding off the wieners, dust them with flour before putting them in the batter. The flour acts as a glue for the batter. 2. Put the batter in a tall glass...you can dip the wiener down into it. 3. As you are pulling the wiener from the batter, gently twirl the stick. This helps keep the batter on, too. It's all about keeping the batter neatly coating the wiener!! 4. The last trick is...(and you have to work sort of fast...) When you take the corndog out of the batter and put it in the hot grease, hold it upright, put it about 2 inches down in the grease and hold it about 3 seconds, then carefully drop it in the grease. I'm not sure what this does but it works like a charm and my corn dogs never split open. Okay! That's it. Time to eat the corn dogs I just made. I already had the best looking corn dogs in the state...now I have the best tasting, too!!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States