A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I followed the instructions exactly and the batter just kept flaking off when I put the hot dogs in the deep fryer. Don't know why but it just didn't work out for me. Maybe it was the brand of ingredients I used but still, be careful when making this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
Best corn dogs ever!!! Fried up perfectly crispy...the key is to have oil temp perfect. Added bonus is to take the bacon and bread it and fry it up! Unreal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
I grilled my hotdogs first then cut in half and rolled in flour then batter. Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I love fair corndogs and these are perfect. My neighbor had NEVER eaten a corndog and he and his family loved these too. I even used the bacon drippings. I have made them 3 times since finding this recipe. I couldn't find sticks so I cut wooden skewers in half and of course clipped the tip. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tigger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was my first time trying to make corndogs but my kids loved them. I did not add the bacon drippings because my family does not eat and it still tastes great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I had to really tweak this recipe -- I added more egg and more flour & corn meal, too. The batter kept exploding open even though I gently twirled the battered dogs in the oil at first. Once I fixed the batter, they turned out great. I'm going back to the Pioneer Woman's recipe next time - but I'll cut it in half (which is why I tried this one - it was a much smaller quantity).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Followed the directions exactly and also some of the suggestions from other reviewers. Stuck the batter in the freezer in between batches to keep it cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
excellent easy recipe my grandkids love these. I followed the recipe as written
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Delicious! Using all the tricks in the reviews, coating the dogs with corn starch first, putting the batter in a tall glass or mason jar and dipping the dogs in that and then swirling.. but I did have trouble at first with the batter fanning out in the hot oil until I read another review that said to "The last trick is...(and you have to work sort of fast...) When you take the corndog out of the batter and put it in the hot grease, hold it upright, put it about 2 inches down in the grease and hold it about 3 seconds, then carefully drop it in the grease." That tip kept the batter from fanning out in the hot oil! We will make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Even though I followed all of the tips written by other reviewers, I still had some trouble with this recipe. The flavor was good, although it didn't produce the type of corn dog I thought it would. I prefer a cakey-type corn dog, this was light and almost lacey in texture. When dropping the dogs in the hot oil, the batter fried in a flat, almost pancake like shape around the hot dog. Not round, like in the photo. I flipped it over in the hot oil to fry the other side...but they were by no means round! I doubt if I would ever try this again...I will keep to the good ole fair corn dogs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States