A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This was fantastic!! Tasted just like the corn dogs that I used to get at the state fair! I was instantly taken back to my childhood! I also added 1 tablespoon of honey to the batter and dipped the hot dogs in flour prior to dipping them in the batter. This was GREAT!!!! I will make this many times more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alittletoolate29

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
GOOD GOLLY THIS IS SO GOOD! I followed directions, except for bacon fat. I replaced with 1/4 cup of honey mustard. (I am adding more next time). This batter is so good, just skip the hot dogs and fry it by itself! YUM!!! Oh, one more thing...don't skimp on the hot dog, use good beef, I didn't and the meat was the worst part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
These were really a mess! Followed the recipe exactly as written but the batter just slid right off into the fry daddy grease. I tried drying the hot dogs.. rolling in flour.. leaving them moist.. not using flour.. using less batter.. using more batter.. lol After about 6 tries.. I salvaged the rest of the weiners by having the kiddos grill them over a campfire on sticks.. they had a blast! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rio Hondo, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I don't even like hot dogs but liked this! The breading is great! My kids and husband ate them faster than I could fry them. I got 1 from a double batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very very good. We had regular boughten corndogs a while after this and could barely eat them. They just don't compare to how good these are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Great recipe and easy to make. My husband ate 5 and our 6 yr old ate 2 and even the 1 yr old ate 1 1/2. Went by the recipe and will for sure make again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Tastes great. Only downside was they cooked so fast, most of mine burned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This recipe was wonderful. Just like the fair. We used melted butter instead of bacon drippings and we used powdered buttermilk mix to make our buttermilk. We cut our hot dogs and made mini corn dogs. We also rolled our hot dogs in a bit of flour before dipping in the batter and the batter stayed on very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This was an awesome recipe. The county fair just left town and I tried most all of the carnival foods but did not get a chance to try the corndogs. I found this recipe and the whole family was very pleased at the way they turned out. We will definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Matejowsky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Amazing taste! The best corn dog I've ever eaten! Didn't put the bacon grease, added 2 more tablespoons of buttermilk. I put 2 inches of oil in a deep skillet, used a skewer to coat the dry dogs (no flour) and then a fork to slip them off the skewer into the oil. Fried about 1 minute each side, until golden. Drained and cooled them a couple minutes then put the skewer back in for the kids to eat. I only had 1 pack of hot dogs so there was leftover batter. I used a spoon to put small spoonfuls into the oil, they were like little hushpuppies and they puffed up in a perfect round ball, we must have eaten a dozen of those! Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States