A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These corn dogs were wonderful I cut the hot dogs in half so they would get done quicker and be less greasy and they were amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
We loved these! I used jumbo hot dogs and it only made just over a package per batch. My husband is a very picky eater and he absolutely loved them. I also didn't use the bacon grease and it was still awesome. I do roll the hot dogs in flour to help the batter stick and I put the batter in a big cup so that I could just dip them in it. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
this was an excellent recipe for corn dogs, they fried up crispy on the outside, and tender inside. Awesome!! We made some by putting cocktail sausages on a skewer, 3 at a time and they were SO darn good. Totally worth the time and effort to make these at home. I did cut the sugar by about 1/3 based on reviews, did everything else by the recipe. Excellent, thanks for this batter recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fourpiesmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I finally tried this recipe and it was wonderful! My husband said they were the BEST corn dogs he had ever had! I will definitely make these again and again. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Rainbolt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deer Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
YUM! Very good! I dusted my dogs with a little bit of flour and the batter stuck pretty well. Would definitely make this again. I gave this recipe 4 stars b/c I would have preferred it to be a tiny bit sweeter. Add a tad bit more sugar, and yo got yourself a fair-esque corn dog :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annien

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
My family loved these, worked perfectly. Now for the ones that the batter slid off maybe your batter was to thin for some reason. I had no problem with it, put it in a large tall glass and stuck the dog down in it and turned it around and put it in oil. No problems what so ever..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I usually buy frozen corn dogs for my children and decided to try and make them from scratch. Well, this recipe was so easy and delicious. I did eliminate the bacon drippings, used beef hotdogs cut into thirds and covered them in flour before dipping into batter. The result was wonderful. My children rated these the best corn dogs they have ever eaten. Thanks Roby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This is an awesome recipe!! I made mini corndog nuggets by cutting bun-size hotdogs into thirds and drying them with a paper towel. I dipped the dogs into the batter with a fork and used another fork to nudge it off into the hot oil. The batter puffs way up in the oil, which I point out because it looks like there is not enough batter sticking, but it will be plenty after it cooks. My kids loved these and said they were soooo much better than the kind you buy (plus, when you make them yourself, you can use all-beef hot dogs, and the store ones use the nasty chicken/pork combination "meat"). You will not be disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I've been meaning to make them for a while, and finally got around to it today. They were AMAZING! The cooked batter reminds me of the crunchy part on my stepmom's Southern Cornbread! Soooooo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sydney Street Burnside

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
The corn dog nuggets I made from this recipe, following it exactly, were good but not special. They tasted just like the frozen kind except with better quality hot dogs b/c you put them in yourself. The word "fair" in the title had my hopes way up, and I was disappointed. They are nothing like the ones at the fair, atleast the ones I've been to in the South. I won't make again considering the let down and extreme greasiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States