A Plus Fair Corn Dogs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
My grandson and I made these. They were very good and nice and crunchy, my only complaint was the hot dog inside was barely warm. I didn't want to leave them in the oil any longer or they would have burned the outer crust. Maybe my oil was too hot ? ? ? I guess next time I'll leave them in longer in less heated oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAYKATS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Malaga, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
The best corn dog recipe I've made so far! The breading is fantastic, perfect amount of 'crunch' and thickness and just a touch of sweetness. I followed other's suggestions by letting the hot dogs come to room temperature, cutting them in half and dredging them in flour before dipping them in the batter. I followed the recipe exactly, used a package of four hot dogs and there was plenty of left over batter to do another four. Let the finished dogs sit in the oven heated at 200 degrees. I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Lovin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was an outstanding recipe, I felt like I was 10 again. After looking at numerous recipes I chose this because it had a higher sugar content and I was looking for a sweeter batter, it did not disappoint. I didn't have bacon drippings so I just subbed oil and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
These were great thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phantomgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Mine just didn't turn out. I'm sure did something wrong, but I'm not sure what. It took me like 4 corn dogs to get them to stay together. But they were way greasy. I think my oil might not have been hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steve Compton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
these are terrific. we have "corn dog night" regularly now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Fun and yum two words that come to mind when I think about these. Cut my dogs into thirds and made corn dog bites. That way i can eat more and feel like I only had a few "bites"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiecoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
I made this recipe for my 4 year old carnival birthday last night and it was a HUGE hit. EVERYONE LOVED THEM!!! adult and kids... Perfect, I took the suggestions from a couple other people and had zero problems. A little flour on the dogs to get rid of any wetness before dipping, and putting the batter in a really tall glass for the dipping part. AWESOME LOVED IT, only problem.. not making them everyday now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
I have made these twice now they came out great each time! I cut the hot dogs in half and used toothpicks for the sticks. I also did not add bacon fat as I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
This was a fun family night dinner. They turned out pretty good. The batter was a little runny though. We dipped the hot dogs in cornstarch as suggested and that helped the batter stay on better. Very fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Middleton, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Corn Dogs

See how to make delicious, crunchy corn dogs at home.

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Jan's Pretzel Dogs

Hot dogs wrapped in homemade pretzels make the perfect party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States